Leaning into Nature

I’ve had a thing about war since I was a kid and have vivid memories of a hot Summer night in the early 1960s when I was feverish with chickenpox thinking that there were armoured tanks invading the small town in Co. Monaghan where we were living then.

When the Troubles broke out in Northern Ireland in the late 1960s , we were living just 3 miles from the Border and it was downright scary. For some reason, I seemed to believe that if we could somehow get to the Isle of Man we’d be okay. I think that it was probably because the Isle of Man had the name of having no violence. (Years later, I was fortunate enough to visit it and found it to be a delightful place where peace did reign.)

The rumblings of the last few days about World strife and nuclear attacks have stoked those smouldering embers and today I craved the comfort of nature.

Here’s where those cravings brought me:

 

Rhodos
Under the Rhododendrons

 

Bluebells
On my Knees among the Bluebells

 

Greenery
Luxuriating in Greenery

 

Mare and Foal
Dusking with a Mare and Foal

 

PicsArt_04-15-10.26.08
Waves of Hope

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

18 thoughts on “Leaning into Nature”

  1. It. Is so scary. I keep hoping he’ll get arrested or impeached or anything before he starts a war. I think he thinks the things he’s toying with are his Legos or something. There are protests here ever weekend for at least the next 3.

    I’m so glad you found some peace. We can only hope, and trust that what needs to happen will. Thanks for sharing your beautiful places. Big hugs.

  2. There is a simplicity and solace in nature. Wars have come and gone yet the world keeps turning and nature keeps smiling. Lovely photos.

Leave a Reply

