Courage

 

PicsArt_04-09-12.34.20
‘Courage’, Dunmore East, Co. Waterford

As  you probably realise by now, I am drawn to names of all kinds of things, and boats are high on that list.

Since seeing ‘Courage’ docked in Dunmore East the other day, I have found myself searching around for what I perceive as some of the great quotes about courage and here’s a small selection of my favourites:

#1. ‘It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.‘ (e.e. cummings)

#2. ‘The greatest test of courage on earth is to bear defeat without losing heart.’ (Robert Green Ingersoll)

#3. ‘Sometimes even to live is an act of courage.’  (Lucius Anneaus Seneca)

#4. ‘ I think we all have empathy but we may not have the courage to display it.’ (Maya Angelou)

#5. ‘Courageous people do not fear forgiving for the sake of peace.’ (Nelson Mandela)

#6. ‘All of us have moments in our lives that test our courage. Taking children into a house with white carpet is one of them.’ (Erma Bombeck)

Have you a favourite saying or thought about courage? I’d love to hear about it.

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “Courage”

  1. I do not have a favorite saying that comes to mind right now, but I do often think how it takes courage to do the right thing in the face of difficulty, and that it can exact a cost. That some people act courageously in the face of those costs inspires me.

  2. Super post Jean. My quote is not well known….
    “You have motor neurone disease”
    “I’m not dead.”
    (My dad. Lost to us all aged 52)

  3. “Courage is simply the willingness to be afraid, and act anyway.” Dr. Robert Anthony
    “The most courageous act is still to think for yourself. Aloud.” Coco Chanel
    … and so many more!

Leave a Reply

