Come Dance!

 “A sense of humor is just common  sense, dancing.”
   (Clive James)
 

This gem was sent to me in an email by a guy who has been an on and off contributor to my Poetry Thread on Linkedin, which has been weaving away for over three years now.   He’s one of those people who has an amazing capacity to say the right thing at the right time.

Ever since I got the email a few days ago, I’ve been wondering what common sense dancing would look like and that thought process has brought me on all sorts of light hearted journeys but I keep coming back to this particular image of my late father:

Dad
Dad

Dad just loved to laugh, was a brilliant dancer and was full of common sense.

What makes this photo so humorous to me is the fact that Dad is sitting on grass and I can just hear him say: ‘ Who’s that bloody eejit?’  He got pneumonia as a kid from sitting on dewy grass after playing handball with his friends. He nearly died from it and spent the best part of a year in bed. We were never, ever, ever let sit on grass  when he was around, unless there was a waterproof groundsheet beneath us.

I’d love to hear/see what images float into your head when you think of  Humour as common sense, dancing. 

Here’s a bit of Irish dancing to get those images tapping!

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

11 thoughts on “Come Dance!”

  1. Ahhh.. always loved Riverdance! I love this video explaining the beginning of the phenomena!
    Isn’t that just like a parent? Do as I say and not as I do!!

    And I love this Humour, as common sense, dancing. You know, I had to read it a few times for it to make any sense… I was a little slow on this one! 😉

  2. I watched the vid for the first time in 20 years this morning. It was a phenomena at the time, I remember it well. But what struck me watching it is how much Irish dance performance has moved on from that point now. It was ground breaking and inspired huge creativity so that now that original show looks very dated and almost hesitant. You can almost imagine Flatley and Butler thinking ‘Is this any good, will they like it?’

Leave a Reply

