Freshly Stressed

One of the most violent thunderstorms in living memory has just passed over us here in Tramore. It seemed likely that the world was ending as the skies darkened to accentuate the rips of lightening. Rolls of thunder, which are still rumbling in the distance, silenced everything even the drum beats of my heart.

Instinct grabs hold when nature instils intense fear and reminds one of one’s coping mechanisms.

For me, three things came more naturally than I can even begin to describe:

1. Flight downstairs to bring a cowering puppy Stan up to lie beside me in bed:

Puppy Stan
Puppy Stan

2. Thoughts of the beautiful warning skies out at Garrarus Beach yesterday evening:

Storm Clouds over Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford
Storm Clouds over Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

3. To poetry, and especially this poem which depicts thunderstorms  in such a deliciously positive way:

Storm Ending

Thunder blossoms gorgeously above our heads,
Great, hollow, bell-like flowers,
Rumbling in the wind,
Stretching clappers to strike our ears . . .
Full-lipped flowers
Bitten by the sun
Bleeding rain
Dripping rain like golden honey—
And the sweet earth flying from the thunder.
 

(Jean Toomer)

Where do you find yourself going when storms rage?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

44 thoughts on “Freshly Stressed”

  1. I think that storm just whisked across the Irish Sea and caught us all unaware the noise the flashes , it was right overhead not a second betwixt thunder crash and lightening flash! That was bad enough worse was the torrential downpour that came next ! Of Biblical Proportions as my eldest son is want to say! I stay in my comfy chair( no beautiful animals to rescue, sadly) I did unplug my laptop though.
    My Mum hated thunder and often would hide under the stairs. xxxx

  2. Sometimes we get that kind of storm here too — I’ve had to pull over to the side on the expressway (under an overpass for shelter) because my windshield wipers couldn’t keep up. I’m glad you’re ok and have a pooch for comfort.

  3. We have had those storms last night and on and off all day. Our pup was quiet as a mouse last night even though I was awake thinking she would be upset. Great photo of your dog. It’s impossible to ignore them when they are upset.

  4. Glad you’re okay and so is Stan, Jean! Right now, we’re still having summer weather, so it’s hard to imagine what you’re dealing with. But in the midst of a big storm, I also think of our dog, as they need our comfort and they do the same in return…hope things calm down for you, too!

      1. I’m truly ready for some cooler weather, though…it’s been very hot and without a/c, it’s a little miserable. It’s getting hotter and hotter and lingering longer as each summer passes, which is unusual in the bay area…and yes, dogs are sensitive, but it’s nice because they can give us warnings, too…have a good weekend!

  5. Thunderstorms look beautiful from afar. The sound of them makes me want to curl up under the covers, though. But I don’t… because what if the storm rips the roof off the house?!? Then we’d be running around in the dark, getting soaked in our PJ’s… lol 😉 ❤ ❤

  6. I enjoy thunderstorms Jean and I have no animals so that’s OK. I was a commercial driver for years and drove a great deal of Nortn America. Storms vary greatly in different areas, but closer to the sea usually seems to make them worse. i wrote a guest post once at Cordelia’s Mom, about driving in such a storm as you described http://cordeliasmomstill.com/2014/08/14/blue-lightning-a-very-special-guest-post/

    Weather that extreme can be challenging. Cool Post Jean.

      1. Thank you Jean, I appreciate the compliment. It was an adrenaline moment, believe me. i don’t have a blog of my own yet (I have to upgrade my laptop before i can set up a blog) but a few kind bloggers are letting me guest post in the meantime. I really am honored that you took the time to read the post.

Leave a Reply

