The High Kings~ Gatherings from Ireland #2

The High Kings played at the Theatre Royal in Waterford last Sunday and it was a night that will live long in my memory. The last time I saw people dancing in the aisles in a similar way  was at the Buddy Holly Show in London in the early 1990’s when I took time out during a great week watching tennis at Wimbledon.

The High Kings bring a wealth of talent to music and music-making. The group includes the younger generation of great musical Irish names like Clancy, Furey and Dunphy as well as the incredibly talented Darren Holden.

Far from belting out Irish songs that are much loved, The High Kings bring their own unique take to these songs and their harmonies are the essence of delicousness.

I couldn’t but think of the talent of great sportsmen and women as I watched the High Kings perform. It just oozes from them in that apparently easy style that one equates with greats like Henry Shefflin, Rory McIllroy, Venus and Serena Williams, Katie Taylor, Ruby Walsh and so many more.

The High Kings are a  group to catch in 2013 and I was delighted to hear that they are planning to return soon to Waterford  ~which has such meaning for them all ~ in the not too distant future.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and sense of place.

2 thoughts on “The High Kings~ Gatherings from Ireland #2”

  1. It is a gift to me to find a touch of my Irish roots through your sharing of Ireland. My dad used to sing Irish songs to my Mum. My Mum’s cousin and her family still live in Ireland outside of Dublin in the family homestead.

Leave a comment