Stone Walls ~ Gatherings from Ireland #37

Stone walls are one of the dominant features of the Irish landscape and there is a wonderful earthiness and creativity about them.  I want to bring you a photograph of a stone wall which I took late last year in Co. Clare and a poem by Seamus Heaney’s which is a work of art about building solid relationships.

DSC07141

Scaffolding

by

Seamus Heaney

Masons, when they start upon a building, 
Are careful to test out the scaffolding;

Make sure that planks won’t slip at busy points,
Secure all ladders, tighten bolted joints.

And yet all this comes down when the job’s done
Showing off walls of sure and solid stone.

So if, my dear, there sometimes seems to be
Old bridges breaking between you and me

Never fear. We may let the scaffolds fall
Confident that we have built our wall.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and sense of place.

Leave a comment