Co. Waterford ABC ~ G is for Garrarus Beach

Co. Waterford ABC is a feature here on Social Bridge where I am identifying myhighlights of  this diverse county in Ireland where I was born and which hasbeen ‘home’ for the last 26 years. There will be just 26 posts ~ one for each letterof the alphabet and I hope you will join me in discussing your views about theplaces, people,  events, things that I select. Would you have chosen differently?In a county with such natural beauty and diversity in terms of history andheritage, one could quite easily identify 26+  highlights for each letter! 

See all previous posts in this series https://socialbridge.wordpress.com/?s=Co.+Waterford+ABC

Map of Co. Waterford (Garrarus Beach in Red. Click Map to Zoom)
Map of Co. Waterford
(Garrarus Beach in Red. Click Map to Zoom)

Garrarus Beach  is my absolute heartfelt choice over lots of other very strongcontenders for this spot in the Co. Waterford ABC series.  It is a place that arguably knows me better than I know myself as I spend so much time there.

Garrarus is an incredibly beautiful and unspoilt beach about three miles from  Tramore. It is a place that captures the soul with its Atlantic ruggednessnatural ‘bathing boxes,’ clear waters,  stunning views of the coastline down to Mine Head, sloping cliffs and perhaps, more than anything,  a community ofpeople who appreciate it and understand the meaning of  ‘being at one withnature.’

I’ve always loved the road down to Garrarus with its high hedgerows, perennial honeysuckle and rambling pink roses. I was asked by a woman in Washington DC a few years back if Ireland really had places where there was a combination of sea, red roses and views of the mountains and my mind instantly flew to the road down to Garrarus.  It’s a road on which I’ve come to know some of the locals, including a man who walks his  faithful dog every day and welcomes me with a big smile and a friendly wave of his walking stick.

Garrarus is a swimmer’s paradise and a group of people swim there all year round.  It also attracts  kayaking enthusiasts who explore the host of sea arches and caves in the area.

For me, Garrarus is a place where I swim practically every day of the year. It is also  a place where I spent endless hours with our son as he was growing up, especially when he was in Treasure Island mode.  It’s the place about which I has my first poem published and it always seems to be my magnet when life-changing events occur. For example, Garrarus was where the car automatically brought  me with its waves of comfort  at 5am on May 31, 2009,  just  after I heard that my mother had died.

I was told a while back that there used to be ‘tea dances’ on Summer Sundays on the cliff overlooking Garrarus Beach.  I can just imagine the picnic baskets, parasols and stolen kisses as the sun was setting in a warm, warm place that knows how to bring people together and how to keep secrets.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

6 thoughts on “Co. Waterford ABC ~ G is for Garrarus Beach”

  1. Taking the first steps to trace our family heritage – both parents born and raised in Waterford, then London. Great, great grandmother Catherine Bailey lived in Garrus which I assume is Garrarus? Never knew anything about it until now when, who knows why, I googled Tramore, Waterford and found your wonderful blog. Brought back so many wonderful memories of our summers in Tramore as children harvesting cockles and swimming in the frigid Atlantic!
    I will definitely check in again – from sunny and drought stricken California
    Kate Chen

  2. Hi Kate, many thanks for your kind words.
    Did you know that there is a Garrarus Appreciation Page on Facebook? It seems like a possible place where you might get further leads. Keep in touch and I’ll ask a few knowledgeable people in that area for you. J

Leave a Reply

