Back to Reading ~ Week 2

I’m a poetry person, as you probably realise by now, but I was a little dubious about even borrowing my book for this week from the library as I had a pre-conceived idea that it might be all religious and just not my cup of tea.

Here it is and the title was what put me off most:

twenty-poems

I’ve been dabbling in it all week and have loved the style in which it is written ~ with chapters about the intricacies of ‘marriage’ interwoven with reasons for the choice of the twenty one poems.

I love being introduced to poems I’ve never read before and while I’d met many of the included poets on other occasions, almost all the poems were new to me. And it wasn’t all holy, holy. In fact, it was more a collection of love poems than ones that were specifically about marriage.

If you are into poems about relationships, this book will open doors to places in your heart that you never knew how to even acknowledge before.

It’s written in a very accessible way and Roger Housden has a series of ‘twenty poems’ books. After reading this one, I simply have to get my paws on some of the others.

And let me say that this little effort at getting back to reading has been one of the better things I’ve done in a while. I think I’m getting hooked again and now have a whole stack of books lined up like back in the day.

I’m still resisting moving from real books with proper pages to turn to a Kindle. Maybe I’m missing something but I think I’d miss the feel of books too much if I went all hi-tech. What do you reckon?

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

22 thoughts on “Back to Reading ~ Week 2”

  1. While I have learned to enjoy reading online for news, articles for research, and just general information (and blogs, of course!), when I read a book, I want it to be printed on paper, in my hand, so I can stop to think without the words going dim on me, mark it with a paper or cloth bookmark, jot notes in the margins, and frankly, savor the smell. One of my best memories is during my PhD when our professor who taught us systems–and my cohort loved his class–brought out a stack of mimeographed chapters from an early systems textbook that had been written back in the 1970s and gave each of us a copy. I still have it, and on the occasion I take it out of storage, it still has that same musty ink on paper smell, the yellowed pages proclaiming its longevity. You just cannot get that from Kindle. 🙂

    1. Was she writing about ‘paws?’ She calls her hands her ‘dirty paws’ a lot. I think they’re clean but anyway… I must say a like a good chew on old hardbacks. They beat bones but I get into trouble when I do it. Must see if I can find a few that are definitely never going to be opened again. Love Sxxx

      1. Yes, Libby has gnawed the corners of quite a few of my books I left open on the bed while I went to fetch something. Once, she even ate a paper I was grading. I had to go to class and tell the student, “My dog ate your homework.” 🙂

  2. I didn’t read for pleasure for a long time, too busy. Now that I’m retired, I read 4 or 5 books a week. And I only read what I feel like reading at the moment. My brother used to read to me before I could read, and I was fascinated by the stories even then. I believe that was the beginning of my writing life.

    1. Hi Sandy, it’s lovely to hear of your brother reading to you as a tiny. I had the same. When I was reading voraciously, it didn’t matter how busy I was. Still saw it as part of ‘living.’ But, I think my love of audio books came from those early experiences of being read to.
      I know that many writers grow from reading. There have been odd times when I couldn’t find a good book – in my terms – that I’ve been tempted to try and write it, but that’s usually when a whole stream of gems come on the market …

      1. Most times these days, I listen to books on my kindle. Gives my eyes a rest from the computer. I love having so many books available in such a small container. I don’t have room for all the books I read, so e-books are a blessing for me.

  3. Same here I just love to hold a good book, even looking at it will give me pleasure, my partner’s kindle which I sometimes use has been lying in a drawer since we came here and not been touched, on the other hand I’ve made friends with the two librarians and got great value out of the local library, such a pleasure, just browsing and then a book jumps out and proves to be fantastic, that’s the stuff of what I call excitement!

          1. Yes, plus I go to the library here every week, but I am waiting Jean as I am about to change my glasses, suffer from eye strain and can not see properly for any length of time, another few days!

  4. Glad you’ve found something else good to read Jean. I have a Kindle and love the convenience of it – books downloaded in seconds and good for when you travel, but I actually don’t like reading on it – so I use it much less than I did.

    1. I somehow can’t imagine you been a Kindle person, Andrea, with your love of texture. Maybe I’ll try a Kindle for the convenience you mention but if I have spare cash I always seem to end up in a book shop first!

Leave a Reply

