The Climb in Co. Waterford

There’s a bit of a back story to the waterfall post of yesterday or maybe I should say ‘back-breaking’ story.

It was another of those Mother and Son excursions that always end up being a lot further and more strenuous than I anticipate and I should have learned by now. But, after a day’s rest, I definitely think it was well worth it.

We went to Mahon Falls, which is Co. Waterford’s best known waterfall. It’s up in the Comeragh Mountains and is a very popular spot for walkers. Thing is I’ve never gone to the top of the waterfall before ~ some of the way but never to the top.

Here’s son, Harry, striding off with a great sense of purpose towards the waterfall:

picsart_01-02-09-58-43
The Path to Mahon Falls, Co. Waterford

I couldn’t resist the odd little detour to take photos of the mountain sheep so kept getting left behind. (Little did I think, I was going to be up on the high curvy peak a while later when I was concentrating on the sheep!)

picsart_01-02-11-57-27
Comeragh Sheep

Fast forward, or take a look back at the video of the waterfall from yesterday’s post.

I find myself persuaded to climb up and have a look at the waterfall from the top rather than just admiring it as it splashes down. It was tough going, I can tell you, but here’s how it looked from the top. I’m still a little dizzy as I look at this one:

mf
Mahon Falls Pouring Down

There’s a sense of being on top of the world ~ at least the world of Co. Waterford when you’re way up at the waterfall. Here’s a sense of the vista and it’s hard to believe that a path can become so narrow and the course of a river so defined:

mf3
Wending

As always with Harry, we came down a different way to how we went up and it involved more climbing before the descent. The views were great as we looked down the valley towards the sea:

mf2
The Wilds of Co. Waterford looking towards Dungarvan

 

Back on terra firma, the setting sun was drenching the side of the mountain with burnished red beams:

picsart_01-02-10-41-27
Homeward Bound

No matter where Harry and I are climbing, we always find ourselves thinking of the song, The Climb, that we have both loved since 2009:

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and sense of place.

25 thoughts on “The Climb in Co. Waterford”

  1. It’s great that the two of you have something special in your Mother-Son relationship…a common interest that is shared by you both..A time to talk, and share the experience that will linger on for a long time. The pictures are spectacular…

    1. Joni, I know we’re very fortunate. Our mutual love of nature, sport and dogs and lots more has been there from when he was tiny. Just glad he hasn’t left me out of them ( so far)!

    1. The view is great, alright. One of the wendings is the river and the other the path leading up to the foot of the waterfall. It’s in the pic of H walking along.

Leave a comment