The Slip at Sunrise

It was very frosty this morning but there was a tint in the early morning sky that drew me down to the beach here in Tramore.

There’s no where in this world that feels more like ‘my’ place and being there brings me back to childhood days with buckets and spades; summer days when it’s packed with regulars and visitors all mingling with the salty air, scent of coconut suncream, happy screams of kids as they splash in the waves; old-timers with white sun hats and a passion for ‘The Tramore Air.’

Today, there was just me, the sea and the gulls. Same place but a new day, seen through eyes that never tire.

The sea was calm but playful:

And all the while, I knew that Tramore was smiling down on me from her haunts up on the hill:

picsart_01-03-08-59-35
Tramore Town from the Prom

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

7 thoughts on “The Slip at Sunrise”

  1. The first picture called to me..to come in and join in the fun..running along the waters edge..leaving footprints that would soon be gone..

    1. Thank you for the lovely invitation…My sister gave me a book titled “Ireland..Its beauty and splendor” by John O’Leary..which features so many beautiful pictures of Ireland from its scenery to its people, and different animals and wild flowers etc. I go to this to visit many times…I enjoy all of your posts along with the pictures that make me feel like I’m there..

Leave a Reply

