Galloping Hooves

There is something very special about the sound of galloping horses, especially when they emerge out of the mist on the sandy beach.

This is one of my precious moments from this recent Lockdown.

Tramore Beach was shrouded in mist and the sea was only whispering gently as the tide was way out.

I thought I heard hooves but wasn’t sure if I was imagining or dreaming of other times and places.

The noise grew louder and a pair or race horses came thundering into sight with the beauty that only horses can bring:

Tramore Beach, Co. Waterford

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and sense of place.

25 thoughts on “Galloping Hooves”

  1. How lucky you are to be able to experience this wonderful sound. I have only heard it on tv with the Kentucky Derby, or in the motion pictures featuring westerns…

    1. What a lovely comment, Willow. It’s so nice when Dad gets mentioned. I think he’d have like the photo but might have opted for one of the ten others I took for ‘composition’ sake!!

Leave a comment