Midsummer Dawning in Co. Waterford

It was one of those mystical mornings here in Co. Waterford as a long, long day stretched ahead.

This is how I saw Midsummer Day 2014 opening her eyes over my precious patch:

Sunrise over Waterford Estuary from Dunmore East
Sunrise over Waterford Estuary from Dunmore East

From Dunmore East, I travelled back towards Tramore along the coast road. I couldn’t resist taking a little detour to check out the view of Tramore Beach  with the Comeragh Mountains beyond from a delightful hayfield above Saleens.

Tramore and the Comeragh Mountains from Saleens
Tramore and the Comeragh Mountains from Saleens

What bliss!

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and sense of place.

12 thoughts on “Midsummer Dawning in Co. Waterford”

  1. Jean that pic reminds me of that one of your father’s – a landscape across a hayfield at harvest time? Time you went to that location to replicate it. It would be brilliant.

    1. Roy, I’ve been watching the scene closely over the last few weeks. There is an access problem, though, so I don’t know that I can ever replicate Dad’s photo ~ one that I absolutely love as well!

Leave a comment