Eye Candy

The term ‘eye candy’ is one that I came to late in life but I’ve always been a glutton for colour.

Mother had a big thing about ‘eye appeal’ when it came to food and always had a pot of herbs on the go to ‘garnish’ plates that she felt needed a bit of a lift. I loved being the one to dash out the back and bring in a sprig of parsley, some chives, feathery fennel or maybe a mixture of everything and watch her transform plain to picturesque.

These memories of Mother are like interlopers on what I intended to write. Funny how that happens. I guess it’s because she appreciated the little things and life is made up of tiny, tiny moments which we need to appreciate as they are so precious.

So, I will just savour this moment and I hope you stop and appreciate a tiny memory from your day, week, life or loved one who has died but certainly not without leaving lots of shared moments to treasure.

PicsArt_07-13-05.42.46
Perennial Astilbe

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

18 thoughts on “Eye Candy”

  1. Life is made up of memories..We just loss our beloved niece to Alzheimers she was only 56 yrs. We do have fond memories of past years especially when she was a youngster, then as a young woman, a wife, mother , a sister and a friend to all those who knew her. She will be missed..She also loved to garden…

  2. Good timing. I don’t know why, but just the other day I found myself thinking of my mother and how she used to have a vegetable garden. She loved that garden, and we all loved having those nice fresh-picked veggies. It’s strange how such memories work themselves into our minds at the oddest times.

  3. Jean,

    What a beautiful and colorful picture! Thank you for sharing.

    It’s funny how you talk about memories. As I am out and about on these lazy summer days, I am remembering my mother and how we used to sit on her screened in porch and drink lemonade.

    Nancy

  4. Beautiful photograph of a beautiful flower. My mother introduced me to so many unusual flowers with exotic names; Silver dollars, Bells of Ireland, Chinese Lanterns. They are hard to find in nurseries here but I would so love to plant them in my own garden! Thank you always for sharing your touching way of memorializing your dear mother!

Leave a Reply

