The Watcher and the Watched

There’s something very precious about having a beach to oneself and that’s exactly how it was for me and Puppy Stan this morning out at Kilfarrasy. The tide was ebbing and there wasn’t even a footprint on the cleansed sand:

 

Kilfarrassy
Kilfarrasy Beach, Co. Waterford

The sea was a darling blue and Summer seemed to be wafting in the salty air. When we turned to come back a fishing boat had rounded the headland with what I always think of as the upside-down heart and we stood watching it for ages as they threw in their lobster pots with the gulls shrieking overhead:

 

Boat
Blue and White of Co. Waterford

 

 

It was Puppy Stan who saw our watchers first. He skidded to a halt and peered up the cliffs. It seems like we’d had an audience ~ an ever-growing ~ one for some time:

 

Cows
Grand Stand View

I couldn’t but think of how my father used to say when I’d be trying to ‘doll’ myself up in my teenage years: Sure, who do you think will be looking at you, anyway? 

You never know, Dad!

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

22 thoughts on “The Watcher and the Watched”

        1. They sure are. These lot reminded me of a herd that stampeded after me and my sibs when we insisted on going into a field that we had been told not to go near when I was about 5!

  1. Beautiful pictures…I love the fishing boat and gulls also the gals all looking with “Cow Eyes”..I read an interesting short story about cows ..how gentle they are and how they grieve when one of them goes missing or dies…How they recognize a person who has taken care of them for quite awhile..They nurse their calves for up to three years..and when they are happy they literally run and jump perhaps that’s where the poem..”Hey diddle diddle, the cat and the fiddle, the cow jumped over the moon”…came from…

Leave a Reply

