Playing into Night

As the days lengthen, Tramore Beach draws lots of families with young children for some before-bed play time.  Often you just see fathers and sons or maybe it’s just me that sees fathers and sons because when son, Harry, was young, he and his father used to go down to the beach and play hurling until it was beyond dark.

Hurling is a BIG sport in Co. Waterford and the beach is a great place for ‘pucking around.’

The other night I spotted this little chap with his father and I wondered if I will be cheering him on to All-Ireland glory with the rest of Waterford in a few years. Even if he doesn’t make the big time, I’ve no doubt that these nights will give him an enduring love of hurling, sea air and a sense of endless dusk that is part of childhood:

 

Hurler
Happiness is …

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

19 thoughts on “Playing into Night”

  1. Happiness is just being yourself with not a care in the world..being anyone you care to be…That’s a nice picture…makes you kind of wonder what he’s thinking…

  2. That’s a great pic in every way Jean. Love it. Rare now to see children playing outside until dark and their mothers call them in 🙂 Like you I think the lad will at least grow up with GAA in his blood as a player or spectator, wearing the blue and white no doubt.

      1. It was soccer, of course, in my younger days. The matches would have gone on all night under the street lights had our parents allowed it. Now you hardly see a kid outside.

Leave a Reply

