Robin Time

I seemed to spend a lot of time in the woods during my blogging break and every single time I went out there, I found that there was a robin waiting for me ~ perched on a branch overlooking the little wooden bridge and full of welcome.

Robin
Feathered Friend

Robins never fail to stop me in my tracks. I can’t just walk passed them and go about my business.

They take me to all sorts of places and this is just a tiny part of  a long list:

#1.Emily Dickinson’s lines:

“If I can stop one heart from breaking,
I shall not live in vain;
If I can ease one life the aching,
Or cool one pain,
Or help one fainting robin
Unto his nest again,
I shall not live in vain.”
― Emily Dickinson

#2. Robin Williams and, especially Dead Poets Society which speaks volumes about what education should really be about and the role that an inspirational and creative teacher can have.

#3. Robin Hood and long hours playing ‘Maid Marian’ to my big Bro’s Robin Hood when we were kids. There are many lessons to be learned from Robin Hood about equality and what it means.

#4. Reading poetry with my father in the last months of his life through the Spring of 2010 and especially this stanza from Thomas Hood’s, I Remember, I Remember:

I remember, I remember,
The roses, red and white,
The vi’lets, and the lily-cups,
Those flowers made of light!
The lilacs where the robin built,
And where my brother set
The laburnum on his birthday,—
The tree is living yet!

Dad and I shared a love of robins and some of my happiest memories are watching him from the kitchen window while he was doing the garden but being distracted by a ‘pet’ robin who used to come and eat out of his hand or perch on his shoulder.

***

I’ve been doing a bit of reading about robins and it seems like they are quite solitary in their own way, especially when it comes to other birds, but just look at how sociable they are when it comes to humans. Maybe I see a touch of the robin in myself (inherited from Dad) ~ leaning into nature and feeling incredibly at peace with a tiny bird and not so much the ‘madding’ crowd.

I’d love to hear where robins bring you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

27 thoughts on “Robin Time”

  1. We have a family of Robins that skitter around the yard..they go about their job and then disappear into another yard…It’s nice to observe them..moving silently about and they teach me patience…

  2. I too love robins! (Big fan of Robin Hood, Robin Williams and Christopher Robin.) I seem to attract them, as they are always building nests around my house 🙂 What they bring me is optimism and communication with nature.

      1. Oh, yes, I have watched them ferociously chase after crows, hawks, even an eagle once. Of course, I’ve also seen the result if those other birds were to turn it around. Heartbreaking. But, yes, robins are quite territorial. But, I’d say their tweet is far worse than their bite, 😉

  3. Ah Willow, how could they be a sign of death???
    But, there again, I HAVE to spit when I see a single magpie to ward off the bad luck. Doesn’t go down too well with strangers who might be foolish enough to think that I’m ‘ genteel.’

  4. Lovely connections about Robins Jean. Robins have a way of making you feel that they know you and are watching you with curiosity. I particularly love the deep vibration of the robin’s song.

Leave a Reply

