Petrified to Stanity

Hi Everyone,

I don’t think I will ever get over the wibble-wobbles that I  got yesterday when the big storm was on. I was a silly, silly, stupid puppy to say that I wanted to go when Jean said: Hey are you coming to see the waves?’

I didn’t recognise any of the beaches that we went to cos the waves were big as houses and, anyway, there were big blobs of white salty stuff blowing into my eyes so I couldn’t see properly.

I was all of a dither when I was asked the same question again this morning. I didn’t want  a repeat that awful feeling in my tum-tum just looking at the sea turning itself all upside down but I decided to give it a go mainly cos I’d heard the birds chirping out in the garden.

I could hardly believe my eyes when I saw that the sand had come back and the sea was kinda back to normal but I still didn’t trust it.

Here’s how it was when we went to the shore:

kilfar-2
Kilfarrasy Beach

That foamy stuff looked like whipped cream to me ~ and I love whipped cream ~ but I  strongly suspected that it would be salty and not sugary. I was right, for once!

The skyscraper waves were more like big dog kennel size and the sky was kinda smiling as well. It looked like paintings that Jean is always looking at by someone whose name I can’t remember.

kilfar1
The Smiling Sky

 

So, I was able to relax and get stuck into chewing some chunks of seaweed. Very tasty they are just in case you ever want to give them a try.

Today.JPG
Happy in my ‘Comfort Zone, ‘ Thank You.

So all’s well again … and I hope it is for you too, if it was in a wobble.

Love,

Puppy Stan

 

P.S. The lesson from all this is: Stay well away from the mad seas when there’s a big storm and know that calm will come back even if that looks impossible.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

23 thoughts on “Petrified to Stanity”

  1. All’s well that ends well..Stan ..Looks like you were enjoying that seaweed..hopefully you didn’t eat too much..I liked the picture of the foam too…it does look like “whipped cream”…

    1. Hi Joni, it’s as tasty as anything but very filling. I’m better than you might imagine at knowing when enough is enough of it and it’s great to know I’ll always be able to find some at the beach (unless it’s a crazy day like yesterday.)

Leave a Reply

