Sixth Anniversary of Social Bridge

I was gobsmacked to hear from WordPress that today marks the 6th Anniversary of my blogging life.

I feel like I could write a tome about the lessons I’ve learned about blogging since January 2011 but what I want to do tonight is thank every single person who has interacted with the blog over the years.

I deeply appreciate the many friends I have made through Social Bridge. I find that you are with me on my daily round as well as here online. Hardly an hour goes by that I don’t think of how one or more of you would respond to a particular situation.

Maybe I’ll be bold and ask if there has ever been a time that I’ve suddenly crossed your radar as a result of something I’ve written either on my own blog or in response to one of your posts?

So to sum up six years of blogging in six words.

#1. CONNECTION

#2. EMPATHY

#3. FUN

#4. INSPIRATIONAL

#5. CATHARTIC

#6. FRIENDSHIP

img_20161101_165404
Tramore, Co. Waterford

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

70 thoughts on “Sixth Anniversary of Social Bridge”

  1. Happy blogiversary Jean. Always happy to have connected with you and to keep in touch with life in Tramore and the wider county of Waterford. Maybe we’ll bump into one another one day in Newton Woods or on Tramore Pier.

  2. You are like caffeine and sleep, two things needed daily. I enjoy the blog and photos before I get dressed to start my day. Your posts are truly inspirational and brighten each and every day.

  3. Wow…six years is impressive.!! Congratulations, Jean.
    I always enjoy living vicariously through you and that gorgeous scenery that you’re blessed with ..:)
    Keep it up..:)

  4. You bring warmth, friendship and give us an insight to life in Ireland. Happy Anniversary and many more blogging years. So many beautiful stories and memories that stir up our own memories…

            1. He has one of those memories for lines from films and TV series so now when he’s driving or doing something A-Team-like, he ‘becomes’ one of the characters for a while! It’s great fun, except when we whizz round corners!

            2. I just told him I was writing about him and the A-Team and he said that it’s still his No.1 TV Series from all he’s watched and that’s a fair few, I can tell you.

  5. Congratulations, six years, a lot of work and dedication. I love following you, I spent two days in Tramore back in 2007 and you keep my memories alive, thank you.

  6. Just to know you’re still blogging away and keeping well in your beloved Tramore.
    I have happy memories of our time together as being a student to a simply wonderful teacher. Thank you always.

      1. Indeed. I remember asking you about the monies end of the OU and you gave me short shrift!!!๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ You had had enough of the financial administration side of the job.
        No, it was a happy, happy time. You were a supremely talented communicator with a passion for sociology.

  7. As usual, your question sent me on a search for attempting to discern when and how I found your blog. I can narrow it down to the year 2014, because that December was when I did the series of “Virtual Gifts” for the women whose blogs I had come to enjoy in the past year. I have a faint memory of something about color, but still cannot quite conjure up the connection.

  8. Happy Anniversary, Jean, and it’s great to have connected with you here. I’ve been off the grid for awhile until a few days ago, so I hope this new year is starting out well for you. โ™ฅ

  9. Jean you have been all of the things on your list to me. Most of all you have been a truly good friend and an extra sister ! Thank you , well done , happy anniversary and I look forward to the next six years and beyond! xxxxxxxxxxx

  10. It has been a great privilege to read your posts over the years! Beautifully observed snippets written so eloquently. We have a date for Mount Congreve, hopefully this spring when I get back from Australia and I am looking forward to it! Happy anniversary and thank you for making the days special.

  11. Happy sixth blogiversary… I ‘found’ you, courtesy of our mutual friend The Silver Voice… and am so glad I did. We seem to be on the same wavelength re quite a number of things.. I always look forward to your blogs.

  12. Happy Anniversary Jean! And yes, I know exactly what you mean about thinking about other bloggers in daily life. I always think of you when I see an interesting bridge, or in relation to the sea.

Leave a Reply

