Reflective Silence

Standing by Ballyscanlon Lake the other evening in that moment between sunset and last light, the only sounds I could hear were my heart beating and lines of poetry.

W.B Yeats’, The Lake Isle of Innisfree, and John Keats’ La Belle Dame Sans Merci were playing like a duet, bringing me more and more into that other world of hopes and dreams. The voice was my mother’s as she read these poems to me as a child and as she chimed in with me when I read them to her during her last months in 2009.

Poetry has a way of leaning into silence and drawing out the very essence of what it is to be alive.

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “Reflective Silence”

        1. I hope you manage to find a quality situation for the 93 year-old mother. From my experience with my late mother when she was heading towards 90, I would definitely be thinking quality not quantity of years; with quality including loving, laughing and being able to enjoy things that matter to her, however she ~ physically or mentally.

  1. Wow, I haven’t read The Lake Isle of Innisfree in years….but because of this post, I just did again and am reminded about how much I love Yeats. Thank you….I am going to go read some more…

Leave a Reply

