Wishing Stone Ritual on New Year’s Eve

New Year’s Eve is looming so the casting of wishing stones is very much on my mind. Many of you will have read about this ritual that son, Harry, and I started a good few years ago now out at Newtown Cove here in Tramore.

We wanted to say goodbye to the old year but let the sea, which is so precious to us, know of our wishes for the coming year. It was a magical occasion, picking our stones by torchlight; they had to be stones that were the right shape, colour/s and texture for us; and than throwing them with all our might into the waves. We didn’t share our wishes ~ these were between us and the ocean.

cropped-s21
Newtown Cove, Tramore, Co. Waterford

Over the years, it’s become part of our New Year’s Eve and we like to share it with people who would like us to cast a wishing stone of their behalf.

It’s our pleasure to know that other people are with us as we make this special journey to one of the loveliest little coves in the whole world and one which has a magnificent and ever-changing selection of stones.

So, please let us know if you would like us to include you. You can use the comment section here on Social Bridge or email me at jeantubridy@aol.com. 

2016-02-03-13-38-55
Wishing Stones

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

36 thoughts on “Wishing Stone Ritual on New Year’s Eve”

  1. Count me in again please Jean – I can’t remember what I wished for last year so I don’t know if it worked but it was a very good year 🙂 Unless, of course, I was wishing for an improved memory 😀

  2. Wishing for better health for my husband who just came through a major heart operation and faces another in June 2017..Thank you for doing this and have a Happy Healthy New Year…

  3. What a beautiful tradition! Please cast a stone for me. It’s been a bit of a rough transition period these last 2 years.
    Wishing you all the best in 2017! And thank you for casting the stone for me.

    Isabel Quinn

Leave a Reply

