Winter Solstice

Winter Solstice is one of my very favourite days of the year. I see it as a major turning point from darkness towards light.

It’s also a day when I hear echoes of long ago and feel the call of the ancients.

The place that speaks most of antiquity to me around Tramore is Gaulstown Dolmen which is thought to date back to 3500 BC.

I have a theory that the dolmen was constructed so that it would catch the setting sun to symbolise dying.

Here is how it was at sundown this evening.

picsart_12-21-08-38-06
Gaulstown Dolmen, Co. Waterford

And, I love how the sun glinted through it:

picsart_12-21-04-23-48
The Glinting

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

22 thoughts on “Winter Solstice”

  1. Brilliant photos Jean. You really have a way of capturing the spirit of your subject. Isn’t it amazing to know that other Irish people thousands of years ago looked on that exact scene, walked around the same stones.

    And did occasionally they say to one another ‘I bet in five thousand years time people will wonder what these bloomin’ stones are all about’?

Leave a Reply

