Blog Comments

Comments are a huge part of being in blog land. They are what makes it such sociable place to hang out.

The other day a comment landed here on Social Bridge from Tara at Tara Sparling Writes. Tara’s  blog, from here in Ireland,  is one that I read as much for the banter in the comments as for the witty posts themselves.

The comment that she wrote was in response to Puppy Stan’s, Love Bites, and this is what she said:

I ‘m sorry I disappeared for a while there, Jean, while I was caught up in booky things. It was my loss. I could have done with a daily dose of Stanliness throughout that whole time…

I loved the idea of Stanliness and, by coincidence, that night I heard an interview on BBC Radio 5 Live about how words get into the Oxford English Dictionary. The one that was under discussion was Brexit.

Brexit has certainly become one of the most used and abused words of 2016 and, along with Trump, it seems destined to be part of our daily round for quite a few years.

Thing is, though,  Stanliness is an even more fundamental part of my everyday life than either Brexit or Trump and it seems to have legs and a wagging tail.

Today, I got the full vision of what Stanliness actually means. It happened all in a moment out in the woods:

picsart_12-17-06-45-39
Puppy Stan

The framed face with those deep, determined eyes, pressing through the tangle of winter, brought me straight to this quote that I’ve long loved:

In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, and invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger – something better, pushing right back. (Albert Camus)

Yes, Puppy Stan represents my ‘invincible summer’ and Stanliness is something that can be shared, should be shared.

That one word in a comment can be so thought-provoking speaks volumes for the power of blogging and the connections that we make through it.

I’d love to hear about comments that have caused you to pause and lingered long in your consciousness. 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

11 thoughts on “Blog Comments”

  1. Well Jean I have never given it any deep thought, apart from the fact I love the comments and the too and fro of kindness and support. Yet your post tonight especially the magnificent quote from Albert Camus has brought me up short. The thought of Stanliness , something inside me fighting my corner when I am at my lowest God that is wonderful and what better name for it than Stanliness or maybe Tininess for she is the best of me! Thank you Jean and Stanley. , 💗💙💚💛💜💝💟❣

  2. On comments, it always cheers me when someone takes time to read a post and then to make a connection by reaching out to say something. We blog for connection ( aka bridges), right?
    Thank you for sharing that wonderful quote, much needed today.

  3. And I’m late again… Thank you for your kind words, but even more thank yous for the Stanpic and even more perfect Stanliness. My resolution for now and ever – forget that New Year’s nonsense- is to remember that true Stanliness never goes away, no matter what happens in the world. The help is here, on your blog!

Leave a Reply

