A Straight Question

I’m very curious to know if real people are racing around the place in a mad tizz about Christmas.

I haven’t even begun to think about it but keep hearing ads about ‘last minute’ this and that. Last minute equals Christmas Eve in my book.

img_20161210_232351
Christmas Lights in Tramore

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

59 thoughts on “A Straight Question”

  1. I’m having a bit of a different Christmas here on Gozo, emphasis more on the religious side, interesting how people decorate their homes, lovely cribs – hand made, many very artistic. Only wrote cards so far and sent them off, sent things to my grandchildren. Planning for the day only got as far as scrambled eggs with smoke salmon for breakfast πŸ™‚

  2. I’m probably going to make people ill. I start Christmas shopping the day after Christmas and If I find items on sale during the year for somebody I purchase them. Usually my Christmas shopping is done by June. Christmas cards I take out the first week of November and mail them the last week of November and close to home the first week of December. No fuss, no rush, no headache but I do enjoy watching and hearing the last minute people. Good way to put your blood pressure in high gear to have a heart attack or a stroke. Merry Christmas everybody

    1. How organised! Thing is I don’t do much at all re Christmas. For example, decorations are fresh sprigs of holly and a sprig of mistletoe; cards are gonners; and we’re not a pressie family. So, it’s only food and I’d happily have a salad and mince pie but hubby like the works so I do my duty!!!

      1. Yes the presents have almost been phased out. I have antique ornaments but I don’t relish a real tree. I think Christmas for years have been commercialized to death that the whole meaning has been lost. Back to simple is the best. I envy you and you have given me something to look forward to

  3. Your question was timely because I was just thinking how advertisers in the US are starting to throw around “Last Minute Gifts” in their ads. Still a week and a half left. Trying to intimidate customers into shopping immediately, trying to avoid the true Last Minute. In any case we live near a large mall and I haven’t seen evidence of this working. Even shop-a-holic’s know how to read a calendar…and a clock!

  4. Wow–I feel particularly fortunate. I stopped at a shop tonight and the clerk asked, “Are you done with shopping yet?” Why, yes, I am; I do not shop, thus, I am done.

Leave a Reply

