Bridging the Old and the New in Co. Waterford

Social Media has its moments and yesterday certainly produced one for me. I was scrolling down my Twitter Timeline trying to avoid all the Christmassy stuff when lo and behold a link to footage of the rail line from Dungarvan to Waterford came into view ~ rather like you’d see a train arriving at a station.

The footage means the world to me because I spend half my life gazing at old railway bridges here in Co. Waterford and wondering what it was like when the train was running in its heyday. Well, I got this glorious glimpse into the past:

https://t.co/1uILH4X6lD

I was inspired by this, and the gorgeous crisp day, to make my way to Kilmacthomas which is one of the towns that was on the line which opened in 1878 and was finally closed, closed in 1990.

kilmac
The Mahon Railway Viaduct in Kilmacthomas, Co. Waterford

This eight-arch viaduct was designed by James Otway (1943-1906) and built by Smith Finlayson and Co. of Glasgow.

While I pine for the sound, smell and wonder of the train, it is brilliant that the old line is in the process of being re-opened as the Deise Greenway and many miles of it are already open. Here’s the view of the Greenway from the Kilmacthomas Viaduct back towards Dungarvan as I witnessed it yesterday evening:

kilmac2
The Diese Greenway ~ View from Kilmacthomas Viaduct

The footage of the old railway from 1966 brought one of my favourite bridges in Waterford City alive ~ old Red Iron ~ and that warmed my heart more than I can describe:

2016-02-04 21.04.30
Old Red Iron ~ Waterford City

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “Bridging the Old and the New in Co. Waterford”

  1. That is just brilliant Jean. The video is just a priceless piece of history. Great that the railway and some, at least, of its architecture has been made accessible again. A pity that nothing similar is possible with the old West Cork Railway, which I still vaguely recall in operation through the mists of time.

        1. I only have one picture of the bridge. I took it on my way back from the Falconry. The light is flat, nothing I can do with that picture. Will go there again some day.

  2. I love these old bridges Jean, and red iron is particularly atmospheric. You would love two of the bridges I visited with in Manchester last week – a swing bridge and a swing acqueduct – I will write about them sometime as the acqueduct is the only one in the world that swings while it is full of water.

Leave a Reply

