A Gratitude Thanksgiving in Co. Waterford

Thanksgiving isn’t celebrated in Ireland but I’ve had my own little ritual for the day over the last five or six years. Weather permitting, it involves a swim, a picnic and a whole day by the sea.

Today was a splendiferous day here so I got my every wish.

Early morning with Puppy Stan at Kilfarrasy Beach:

thanks2
Kilfarrasy Beach

Back home to gather up swimming gear and the feast which included Sushi from a Co. Waterford, award-winning company, Glorious Sushi.

thanks1
Glorious Sushi

My choice of beach for the swim was Benvoy, which is lovely and sheltered. When I arrived, a big golden heart was shimmering out in the water:

thanks3
Heartwarming Benvoy

Onwards to have look at Faugheen Church which is tiny and divinely picturesque:

Thanks4.jpg
Faugheen Church near Kill, Co. Waterford

On the day that was in it, it seemed very fitting that one of the tombstones that I saw bore the inscription that the railing around the grave had been erected by a man in Butte, Montana, U.S.A. in memory of his parents. As I have highlighted before, many of the miners from the copper mines in Co. Waterford emigrated to America, and especially to Butte, when the mines closed down in the late 1870s.

As evening was closing in, I headed to Tankardstown, just across from the ruins of the engine houses from the copper mining era, and soaked in the sunset:

What more could anyone want? Now that my secret is out, maybe I’ll get start a Thanksgiving Movement here in Co. Waterford as we have so, so much to be thankful for.

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

31 thoughts on “A Gratitude Thanksgiving in Co. Waterford”

  1. We do indeed have so much to be thankful for. Beautiful post. We don’t celebrate thanksgiving either, but we certainly raised a toast this evening to all our American friends and all the things we are thankful for. How cold was the water? you are much braver than I !

  2. Happy Thanksgiving from Houston, Texas. It was a lovely day, sunny and cool, wonderful. Great food with family and friends and sharing lots of gratitude for so many many things. Sending love your way.

Leave a Reply

