Leonard Cohen – Musician and Poet

This loving tribute to Leonard Cohen from another Jean in Ireland echoes my thoughts about this precious man who has played such a part in our lives. Yes, Rest in Peace and thanks for bringing such poetry and music of love, romance and humanity.

Jean Reinhardt

lcohen3 Leonard Cohen 1934-2016

I have known Leonard Cohen’s music and poetry for over forty years, from my teens right into my fifties. I never did get to see him perform live at any of the venues he played on his visits to Ireland but last year made a promise to myself, should he play here again I would be there. That’s not going to happen now but his music and lyrics will always be with me.

On September 11 and 12, 2013, at the O2 music venue in Dublin, Leonard Cohen ran onto the stage with more energy than your average 79 year old, performing some of his best numbers, from Dance Me to the End of Love to Closing Time, for almost four hours each night. Accompanied by the Webb sisters, who also played guitar and harp, the gravelly voice of Leonard Cohen was as good as ever.

View original post 477 more words

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

11 thoughts on “Leonard Cohen – Musician and Poet”

  1. I UNFORTUNATELY NEVER MET HIM BUT FELT I WAS MEANT TO. I LOVED HIM SO MUCH AND FELT HIS PAIN. AND NOW ITS TOO LATE I WILL NOT MEET HIM IN THIS WORLD.

Leave a Reply

