The Light of the Ocean

img_20161110_105228
Tramore Bay, Co. Waterford

If you don’t send out your boats, they won’t come sailing home.

This was one of my late parents’ fondest sayings and I always think of it when I enter writing competitions.

So, send out a few boats. You may get a lovely surprise long after you’ve forgotten you even did so.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

24 thoughts on “The Light of the Ocean”

    1. I’m bursting with curiosity out the monster!
      Speaking of monsters, while I was taking the pic, two people told me that they had seen a whale nearer to the coast than the trawler in the last few days.

  1. I was just thinking how that quote related to writing Jean, before I read your next line. It’s so true – there is reason to celebrate rejection aswell as success, because you’ve sent out your boat!

  2. I’m laughing! I drew cartoon postcards for each of the five female gymnasts during the Olympics. I received a reply and an autograph from Simone Biles today. One of my ships returned to shore. Bread cast upon waters came back buttered toast, too.

    I enjoy your posts.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

