Ten Things I Love About America

Needless to say, America is on my mind as we wait for the results of the Presidential Election to come through.

I’ve been getting the feeling here in Blogland that many Americans are sort of ashamed about the whole election campaign and down about the country in general. While I can understand that, I suppose it’s easier for somebody who is born, reared and living in a faraway country like Ireland, to be able to take a broader look at America tonight.

By coincidence, I happened to be in America on this very night six years ago and had visited George Washington’s, Mount Vernon, that morning. It was a beautiful Autumnal day and I could feel the hand of history embracing me.

But when I think of the 10 things that I love  most about America, I find myself delving into things cultural and sporting that have been a part of my life from when I was a kid. So here goes:

#1. F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby 

gatsby-226x300

#2. Billie-Jean King ~ my tennis idol when I was growing up and glued to Wimbledon, especially, on our black and white television.

billiejeanking

#3. The gorgeous city of San Francisco where I was lucky enough to study for three months in 1983.

download
Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco

#4. Arthur Ashe who was such a great tennis player and inspirational person.

download-2

#5. Leonard Cohen with his brilliant poetry and music.

 

#6. Woody Allen Movies ~ particularly Annie Hall.
download-3

 

#7. The American tradition of celebrating Thanksgiving. I’d love to see us introduce it to Ireland.

#8. American diners ~ especially with booths!

#9. Kris Kristofferson whose songs are etched on my heart from listening to them over and over and over again on our record player when I was a teenager.

 

So, that’s almost my lot from Ireland and I hope that when the new day dawns America will move on from the bitterness associated with this Presidential Race and become truly ‘United’ in every sense.

Finally:

#10. Emily Dickinson’s poetry, especially this poem:

“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –
And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
And sore must be the storm –
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm –
I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
And on the strangest Sea –
Yet – never – in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of me.

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

20 thoughts on “Ten Things I Love About America”

  1. thank you for your kindness in our time of crisis, where everyone is behaving badly to one another, which is how I see the election and the internet at the moment. and the ten things you chose are truly nice to hear about us. perhaps I can retaliate a bit with my view on the kindness of the people of wicklow on our visit there, the beauty of the morning at silver beach, and the gentle green of the rolling hills in kinsale. and so much more.

  2. Thanks for your kind thoughts, on what is indeed a difficult day–albeit for different reasons for each of us. As I said to my bro in 2008, I would rather live in a world of hope than in a world of fear.

  3. Oh, thank you, Jean, for supporting what is good about America! I love these things too. I agree with Suz, I would rather live in a world of hope than fear. Whatever the outcome of the election, may America wake up and see how much we have to be grateful for today and come together and quit whining. It felt good to be able to vote for Hillary Clinton but if Mr. T. wins, I wish him well but I don’t think he realizes the responsibility being POTUS means.

  4. Thank you! Its nice to be reminded of some of the wonderful things. Our election process and the peaceful transfer of power is also a wonderful thing. Even if I don’t agree with the outcome.

  5. Pleased you got Leonard Cohen in (though he was Canadian) – another truly great artiste lost in what is turning out to be an alarming 2016. The Americans I’m acquainted with, either personally or through the blogosphere, are, without exception, lovely people. If I wasn’t such a wimp about flying I’d like to spend some time there.

    1. Roy, I always thought he was American until today but I’m glad I included him too. Feel so sad at his passing.
      I loved my times in America and made some lifelong friends from those visits.
      Can wimpishness be cured?

  6. I almost feel half America Jean, our culture here is so interspersed with American popular culture – though I know that in actuality there are many differences. But knowing the result now, I think there is a very similar trend with what happened there and what happened here with Brexit.

    1. I’m with you all the way on this, Andrea. Ireland is in a helluva tizz wizz about Brexit. It probably will affect us a lot more than Trump, unless he takes all the Apples etc back.

Leave a Reply

