Colouring Days

There’s an awful lot of things I don’t understand and I’m not sure that I need to understand them, especially as I’m a puppy dog and no one expects me to be contemplating stuff.

What has me awesticken today is the way my wood kept changing depending on the time of day and where we were in relation to it.

This was this morning:

picsart_11-02-08-20-24
Morning Glory

Then, this evening, we were there when it was getting a bit dark and some of the leaves were all crumpled up and ready to fall. I love walking on paths of leaves but I feel sad looking at the ones that are sort of clinging on for dear life:

picsart_11-02-07-11-16
Last Gasp

Jean disappeared onto a cliff when the sun was setting to take some photos of her old friend the Metal Man:

picsart_11-02-05-32-59
The Metal Man

I wondered if I’d ever see her again cos the cliff is awful steep and she gets a bit careless at sunset time.  To take my mind off that worry and fretsomeness, I gazed and gazed at the way our little wood was all decorated by the sunset. You’d never think it had any crumpled leaves, would you?

picsart_11-02-07-04-24
Our Novembery Wood

I wonder will that leaf have fallen by tomorrow. If it does fall, I hope it has a nice, soft landing. That’s something everyone needs, I think.

picsart_11-02-07-13-41
Love and Care

Talk soon,

Puppy Stan

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

32 thoughts on “Colouring Days”

  1. Puppy Stan, you are such a social worker at heart–hoping for nice, soft landings when one has to fall. Tell Jean to watch those cliffs–I took a doozy of a fall on one in the “Emerald Isle of the Bering Sea” at sunset–it is easy to get lost in the beauty of the island at sunset–me thinks whether Ireland or St. Paul Island. 🙂

        1. Jeepers, I never thought of that but Jean told me once when I was howling at the moon that it’s a lot further away than you’d think and I know it only took her a few hours to fly to America so I think I’m right ….

Leave a Reply

