Yesterday’s Figary

The word figary is part of Irish slang and basically means ‘a whim or a frolic.’ To even put it like that is to formalise it a bit too much.

Anyway, I had started this post by saying that: Yesterday, I took a figary and just had to see a a bridge in Ballyduff in West Waterford.’ I then realised that only people who are Irish would have a clue what I was talking about when it came to the figary bit and also that only Co. Waterford people would fully understand the notion of West Waterford.

Co. Waterford is very much divided in our minds between the East and the West. I guess that one of the reasons for this lies in the fact that East Waterford (where Waterford City and Tramore are) are close to the River Suir, whereas West Waterford is associated with the River Blackwater. West Waterford takes in towns like Dungarvan, Cappoquin and Lismore. It also takes in the little village of Ballyduff which has a bridge that’s a delight to the eye, especially of someone like me who is fanatical about bridges.

It’s about 55 miles from Tramore to Ballyduff and one could stop practically every quarter of a mile to explore fascinating places and objects. But Ballyduff’s bridge was firmly fixed in my mind and I certainly wasn’t disappointed when I got to walk along it, feel its texture, admire its views.

This is how it looked:

b3
Ballyduff Bridge, Co. Waterford

This iron bridge, over the River Blackwater,  was built in 1887. It was designed by W.E. L’Estrange Duffin (1843-1925), who was Waterford County Engineer.

The bridge is very well maintained and here is the view up river towards Lismore:

b2
River Blackwater from Ballyduff Bridge

Ballyduff village itself remains to be explored another day but I couldn’t but be fascinated by an impressive three-storey building which was built on a height in the mist on the left just across the bridge.

b4
Ballyduff Bridge

It transpires that the building was originally a Royal Irish Constabulary barracks which was built in 1869 and later used as the Garda Station in Ballyduff. Rural Garda Stations have been subject to closures over the last few decades and this Garda Station in Ballyduff was closed in 2013.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Ballyduff Garda Station Building; Photo: http://www.buildingsofireland.ie

It’s sad to see rural Garda Stations like this one closing and I can’t but think of how all the comings and goings over the bridge between 1869 and 2013 were closely observed by various duty officers.

b1
Looking across towards Ballyduff Village, Co. Waterford

Ah yes, so much to explore in historic Co. Waterford!

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

16 thoughts on “Yesterday’s Figary”

    1. Hi CC, it’s very hard to capture ‘figary’ properly, I have to say. I never had to think about what it meant before. This is what happens when I assume everyone is as Irish as I am! (I have an even closer-upper than that one but there’s a limit, methinks, or is there?)

  1. Oh, my! I was just saying to Rand again last night that I really wanted to go to Ireland, and now these photographs make me want it even more! Such a beautiful place. I believe instead of just “really wanting to” I need to be making serious plans for “how to.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

