The Geography of Blogging

I certainly don’t obsess about the stats associated with this little blog of mine  which comes to you from Tramore, Co. Waterford which is in the South-East of Ireland.

However, my sociological self emerges every now and then for a perusal of the stats page. Today was one of those days and I found myself looking at the countries from which my visitors came this month. I was totally STUNNED to find that they came from 62 countries. The USA heads the list with Ireland second and the United Kingdom third. This tends to be how it is for me practically every month.

I’d never really looked at the full list of countries before, mainly because I’m absolutely hopeless at geography and didn’t even know until I checked this evening that there are 196 countries in the world.

It absolutely humbles and intrigues me that people from 62 of those 196 countries have landed on Social Bridge this month. There are countries that I would expect to see on the list because I know from people who have commented that they live in these places but what about the others?  I’m wondering what brought them here. Were they here by choice or were they  accidental tourists due to their planes, boats or broomsticks being diverted?

Just in case you come from some far flung place and haven’t a clue about Ireland ~ like I haven’t a clue about so many of the 62 countries that are on my October list ~ here’s a little overview.

Political Location Map of Ireland, highlighted continent

As you can see, Ireland is an island at the very western edge of Europe. (Click on the map/s to embiggen, if you wish).

The population of the Republic of Ireland is 4,757,976, according to the Census which was taken on the 24th April, this year. Dublin is the capital of Ireland, and other key cities are Cork, Galway, Limerick and Waterford (which is just 8 miles from my home in Tramore town which has a population of around 10,000).

This finding about the 62 countries, even if I can’t be sure how reliable it is, has me seeing bridges extending from all these places with people approaching Ireland, and specifically Tramore, with smiling faces and outstretched hands. The bridge where I feel I meet the world is the little wooden one in my beloved Newtown Wood which is just out the road from here and which Puppy Stan and I cross every single day.

IMG_20160808_194449
My Social Bridge in Newtown Wood, Tramore, Co. Waterford.

So, to everyone who has visited the blog in October, many, many thanks or, as we say in the Irish language: Go raibh míle maith agaibh.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on the global reach of YOUR blog, wherever you happen to be in this wonderful world which I’m determined to learn more about.  

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

26 thoughts on “The Geography of Blogging”

  1. Totally agree with this. I don’t check where all my readers come from daily or even weekly, but when I do, like you I am in shock. Also like you my number one country is the USA, this is then followed by France and the UK (well I live in France and write about France so that is expected), but then there are countries that I would never have dreamt would find their way onto the list of places where my readers live. It just goes to prove that blogging really does pull the entire world together, I find that alone truly fantastic.

    1. Hi, lovely to hear from you and I’m glad this post resonates
      Yes, the power of blogging to pull the world together and to enable us to connect with each other is amazing and something that few could even have imagined a few decades ago.

  2. You made me curious about my own so I checked them out. I’ve 70 countries, but most surprising of all for me, is that after my first three, which are the same as yours, my next two biggest are India and Albania, followed by Canada.
    I find it a little strange, fascinating and mind blowing to imagine people on different continents and living in countries we’ve little connection to, reading what we write.
    Thanks for the prompt as always your posts are food for thought.
    Lovely photos too.

    1. Hi Tric, now that’s interesting that we share the first three. Albania is very low down on my list, though I think one visit came from there.
      Hope you’re having a pleasant weekend. j

  3. It is awesome to see your blog being read in so many different countries. But have you ever seen your blog translated into another country’s language? Once when I Googled my own blog (just to see what would come up), it linked to a site where my blog was in French! The header was there, all the pictures were there, and the formatting was the same, but the words were in French. Totally freaked me out. And, of course, I had no way of knowing if my posts were being translated accurately, or at all, because I don’t speak or write French.

  4. First, I love that the bridges to other countries teach us new words and cultures: embiggen! What a terrific word!

    Second, yes, on the (generally once per week) occasion that I look at stats, it is pretty amazing to see the countries that access a particular entry, and of course, to wonder why and what she or he was searching for that resulted in that link.

    I think we know we have made a connection (i.e., welcoming hands and hearts) when the visitor returns, or begins to follow–meaning there is something in the sharing that reaches us and teaches us, or those of us who do follow, check the links of those who follow you, and sometimes make another new connection.

    1. Hi Suz, I must tell you that the word ’embiggen’ is one that I have ‘stolen’ from a friend and blogger from Tramore. She is an artist and I think you’d love her work. Here’s the link to one of her blogs https://mermaidspurse.wordpress.com/
      I agree about those connections you write about in the blogland and how they are tentative at the start but can really blossom.

  5. I find this intriguing I must say. I’m Canadian, but the bulk of my views come from the US, followed by Canada and then Germany and India! I can see India because I write a lot about yoga, but I wonder what draws the Germans to my blog. hmm…

  6. I love looking at that part of my stats page only because I am always so surprised to see so much activity from the middle east, India, and Asia. Sometimes I wonder how I even connected with these folks but I love it nonetheless. It’s like traveling from the comforts of our own computers. *Love the broomstick comment btw.

    1. My ponderings bring me in the same direction as yours ~ how were the connections made in the first place ~ if indeed they are connections.
      PS. Couldn’t resist the broomstick given the weekend that’s in it and I’m a Harry Potter fan!

  7. My blog had visitors from 37 countries, with U.S.A leading, and Bangladesh in second place. India and Saudia Arabia were 3rd and 4th respectfully! It was interesting to check these stats! tc

    1. I wonder if bloggers from countries with big populations, like the U.S.A. tend to draw a higher percentage of their overall readership from their home countries than bloggers, like me, from a country with a small population.

Leave a Reply

