De-Stressing

Today was one of those warm, warm days here in Tramore.

The sea was calm, blue and lovely. I drove out along The Copper Coast and had my swim in the glorious shelter of the tall cliffs out at Ballydwane Cove.

The Copper Coast, Co. Waterford.
The Copper Coast, Co. Waterford.

As I soaked in the water and then dried off with my back toasting against a sun-kissed rock, I wondered if there were any better ways to de-stress.

Other things on my list include:

#1. Being with Puppy Stan

#2. Digging the garden

#3. Taking photographs

#4. Writing a journal

#5. Walking in woodlands

#6. Reading poetry

#7. Watching the fire

#8. Listening to audio-books in bed

#9. Blogging

#10. Wave watching

What would you add to/subtract from this de-stressing list?

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

17 thoughts on “De-Stressing”

    1. Hi Sandy, yes a glass of wine can add much to many things. Not sure being out with Puppy Stan and a glass of wine would go all that well together, though. He’d probably drink it!

  1. To add or subtract? We have to consider any shortages, and particularly any excess in order to do that:

    “Too much of anything is bad. But too much of good whiskey is…barely enough.” ~ Mark Twain

    I’m having barely enough. (insert smiley face here)

  2. Avoiding stress in the first place is something I’ve become quite adept at, but running is my go-to activity and that works a treat. Dogs and gardening would only create stress I’m afraid 🙂 Gorgeous pic of Ballydwane Cove.

    1. Roy, I’ve been wondering all day since I read your comment how you’ve managed to do the avoiding stress bit. I need lessons!!!
      Interesting how one persons de-stress is another’s distress. Couldn’t manage without a dog!
      Yes, running is certainly on my list as well ~ just wish injuries would stay more at bay but walking is a good alternative – but not as effective in the stress stakes.

Leave a Reply

