Counting Swans

I went in search of my Anne River swan family and heard one cygnet calling long before I saw him all alone and looking lost.

My heart fluttered with delight at seeing him but broke a little too, lest he had somehow become permanently separated from his parents and six siblings.

img_20161013_120955
Dunhill Castle, Co.Waterford

Running towards Dunhill Castle, I spied the rest of the family, gathered together and then watched as the prodigal son returned to his ever watchful parents.

The little reunion made me think of that special bond between parents and their offspring. The nest will soon be emptying but I suspect there will be insecurities and lonelinesses after the moments I was fortunate enough to witness.

These times, its swans not sheep that I count as I lull myself to sleep.

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

6 thoughts on “Counting Swans”

Leave a Reply

