Railwaying

Everything to do with railways penetrates my very being ~ trains, tracks, signals, railway crossings, railway bridges, railway sleepers, train drivers, ticket collectors …..

Here in Co. Waterford, we have a just the job for people like me, Waterford and Suir Valley Railwaywhich runs along 8.5 kilometres of the abandoned Waterford-Cork Railway route from Kilmeaden to the outskirts of Waterford City.

The train travels beside The River Suir and always reminds me of Thomas the Tank Engine which was such a part of son, Harry’s, growing up.

As August drew to a close, I picked a day when the tide was high and the skies blue as blue and treated myself to yet another trip on the little train that has been part of my life since it opened in 2002.

It was one of those perfect days …..

SV1.jpg
The Waiting Train
sv2
Old Stone Railway Bridge
sv5
Up River towards Waterford
Railway.jpg
Railway ‘Children’
sv4
Homeward Bound
railway1
Bridging Time
Railway2.jpg
Friendly Welcome Back at Kilmeaden

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

25 thoughts on “Railwaying”

  1. Never knew about this Jean. What great work they’ve done to restore and keep this stretch of line open. Branch lines are a rarity these days so preservation work is so important.

    I love railway archaeology too. I wonder if you’ve seen the site beneathesummergrowth.wordpress.com which has some wonderful stuff on the old railway lines of Ireland and related structures.

  2. Father and Grandfather worked for the railroad. Worked my way through first half of college building and repairing freight cars. Sounds, sights, poetry, and memories are haunting:

  3. I would love to have a ride 🙂 Where does it depart from? I opened the link but “outside Kilmeadan” wasn’t exactly a helpful information 🙂 I know it is somewhere on the road to Carrick or Portlaw, but I have no idea where is that turn.

      1. Oh thank you, I just found it in the street view. Have to research the timetable, because their parking lot has a gate and there is no other place to park. Definitely will take a ride.

Leave a Reply

