The Dawning of the Day

Circumstances dictated that I had to get up early this morning and take the dogs out for their constitutional.

It was very dark and cloudy looking as I scrambled around, drinking a big mug of coffee,   gathering up the car keys and a befuddled looking Puppy Stan.

I had visions of needing my torch in the wood as it seemed that the daylight was never going to come . My mind slipped back to a snippet of conversation I overheard yesterday as I walked passed two women chatting in Waterford. One said in a very serious tone: I wish I could wake up dead.’ At the time, I thought to myself, ‘You’d only hear that sort of thing in Ireland.’

I think she probably meant that she would like to die in her sleep and not have to endure any lingering illness. That thinking had brought me back to a hot sunny Summer morning years ago when my mother found herself at a coffee morning where the subject of conversation was: Would you prefer to die suddenly or be sick for a while beforehand? She came home that day in a fury and said that she needed to go to the beach immediately to make up for a wasted few hours discussing ‘ridiculous nonsense ~ as if you have any great choice how you die!’

The sight of a tiny break in the dark sky changed my car and mental gears rather swiftly. All in a few moments,  I was treated to drama of dramas as morning painted herself on the black canvass over Tramore Bay:

sunrise3
Tramore Bay at Daybreak

Standing out by Newtown Cove, I couldn’t but think of Seamus Heaney’s poem, Song, which opens with the line:

A rowan like a lipsticked girl.

Nor could I stop myself from wondering how I could ever have doubted that the sun would once again wake up and cast her  beams across my world.

Perhaps there’s a lesson here for us all!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

16 thoughts on “The Dawning of the Day”

  1. Wonderful photos and post. Definitely only in Ireland!
    I teach at a pool very early in the morning and am witness to beautiful sunrises most days. It’s amazing how they change in a moment. There’s a lesson for sure in that.

Leave a Reply

