Antiquity

In spite of having strong atheistic tendencies, I find myself drawn, especially on Sundays, to places that have a sense of the spiritual about them.

Today, it was Gaulstown Dolmen that lured me to its ancient quietness a few miles outside Tramore.

The  fact that it is thought to date from around  3500 BC invariably sets my mind on fire.

picsart_09-18-10-39-21
Gaulstown Dolmen, Co. Waterford.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

12 thoughts on “Antiquity”

  1. Amazing Jean, simply amazing. Spiritual does not necessarily mean religious. I know many spiritual people who do not practice religion. Basically it just acknowledges that there is a level beyond our physical existence.

    1. Yes, it’s truly amazing and just to be there in a little grove with no one around.
      Even with the ‘spiritual,’ I can’t deal with levels beyond our physical existence. I simply don’t want to go there, if that makes any sense. Perhaps, a poor choice of word on my part.

      1. I understand. Control means happiness. And to a certain extent I agree. Many smart people are like that for good reasons.I changed when my life was not under my control and it worked out well for me. I realized that the world is so large and complex that I could never control it and so I gave that up and I’m still here with a lot less stress. 😀

        1. Very thought-provoking, Paul.
          Must say I don’t think control is within our grasp at all – especially when it comes to nature. Also, I find ‘control freaks’ rather overwhelming and not as sensitive as I need!
          I hadn’t ever thought of how some might see contol being happiness but I suspect that explains a lot of what seemed inexplicable to me up to now.
          Hope you have a ‘happy’ day, by your definition!

Leave a Reply

