Tramore Tonight

I sped out of the house around eight o’clock as the sun had just set and found myself down at the Prom looking out over Tramore Bay.

tramore
Tramore Bay, Co. Waterford

It was one of those balmy September nights when locals and visitors were trying to eke out the very last of the Summer. The ‘Merries’ have closed down, on weekday nights anyway, but there was a big queue at Dooly’s Fish and Chip Shop which is a landmark place by the Ladies’ Slip here in Tramore. Even when you’ve had supper, it’s hard to resist at least a ‘small chip’ wrapped in steaming paper with that distinctive salt and vinegar smell that blends so well with the salty sea air and the splashing of the waves.

Tonight, the Prom seemed to be all about lines. The horizon was sharp, in stark contrast to the dense fog that hung over it early this morning; the waves were like dark pencil lines as they crested; the three pillars out at the Metal Man rose up to lend their shape to the scene; and most of all the Prom railings marked out Tramore as the place that has held me since I was a babe-in-arms.

Just to run my fingers along those railings anchors me like nowhere else. I’ve leaned against them in all-weathers for over half a century now and they always make me think of the millions of hands that have held them as Tramore has won the hearts of people who could be just about anywhere as I write.

tramore2
Railings of Love

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

20 thoughts on “Tramore Tonight”

  1. What a lovely and poetic rendering! A bit on the opposite side, I will tell you that after sweating today in mid-September and the sun bearing down like it was July or August, I am ready for summer to slip on out the door and give me my Autumn! Your beautifully soothing words and the thoughts of a pleasant sea-side respite were refreshing–like a dip in the waters!

  2. One can tell that you truly love your seaside world! Glad that you ran out to catch the setting sun to share with us. “Railings of Love” makes me want to touch them also. What are the Merries? Pubs? Just wondering.

    1. CC, your question about the ‘Merries’ made me smile. No, not pubs! They are quaint amusements like a lake with paddle boats, merry-go-rounds, bumper cars, a ferris wheel, a little steam train that make you feel like you’re back in the some magical childhood …

Leave a Reply

