‘I Want to be Stan.’

I’ve noticed Stan does a huge amount of existentialist staring out to sea. I want to be Stan.

I’m all of a dither after seeing this comment from a brilliant Irish blogger called Tara Sparling. (She writes about books but in the funniest way imaginable.)

Anyway, I had to go off an see what ‘existentialist’ means and my puppy brains are all mish-mashed after trying to get to grips with it. Why do people have to use such impossible words?

Here’s the first definition I came a across and I think it’s best that I stay at this point:

Existentialism is a philosophy that emphasizes individual existence, freedom and choice. It is the view that humans define their own meaning in life, and try to make rational decisions despite existing in an irrational universe.

This is pretty gobbledly-gookish, isn’t it? I’m wondering, though, if it’s gobbledy-gookish for someone to want to be me?  The gas thing about thinking that I spend my time staring at the sea,or anything else for that matter, is that those are the only times that anyone can manage to get a photo of me. Staring time is about 1% cent of my waking hours (and 75% of my dreaming hours.)

picsart_09-14-08-21-24
The Existentialist!

Seriously, though, can anyone ever get to know someone else? I mean, people and puppies can come across in particular ways or as having their own little or HUGE foibles but can we ever know for sure what’s going on in their heads and their hearts?

I’ve heard Jean talking about a thing her father used to say and it’s stuck in my little head through a lot. He used to say to Jean when she’d be complaining about something: Would you throw your lot into the pile and take your chances with someone else’s? I can tell you one thing, I wouldn’t throw my lot in for all the dog bikkies  in the world. You’d never know what you’d end up with ~ I mean I could be a poor little puppy that’s beaten and flogged every day and never given any food or fresh water and there are lots of puppies in that kind of mess of a life.

But, I’d say to Tara that she’d have a great time if she was me but it’s probably not remotely like the great that she thinks. I’d quite like to be her cos of her funny blog but I’m not taking any chances. I’ll just hang around here where I know I’m loved ~ existentially and every other way!

picsart_09-14-08-18-16
Being Me!

P.S. I bet you that Tara is going to win at the Irish Blog Awards that are being announced tomorrow night. Look out for her!

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

17 thoughts on “‘I Want to be Stan.’”

    1. I wouldn’t get carried away on the ‘wise’ bit, CC. It’s very fleeting with me, I can assure you – a bit like the birds flitting in the woods. Yeah, paws crossed for Tara. Love Stan.

    1. Do you think so? I think we have to try and understand humans somehow. Just think of all the effort they put into trying to understand us. Imagine if they could understand woofing! Love Sxxx

      1. Yes we would be able to talk to them but then we would have no secrets . I think it’s best we understand most of what the talk about but keep the upper hand and have out own language! 😎 Love Ruby

    1. Oh hi Zeke, hope you’re well.
      I wonder why there’s a kind of view that dogs are flippant. I’m serious at times. Guess, it’s cos I’m trying to be as empathetic as I can be. Not all that easy, is it? Woof, Stanny.

  1. Hahaha!!! Here I am, late as usual and catching up far too late. I hope you didn’t give up on me, because the photo you sent me on Twitter was the nicest thing I ever got on social media ever, and that includes the one time I won a blog award – which wasn’t last week! Don’t mind me and my big words, anyway, Stanny. I only use them to sound clever – and that’s only because I’m not as clever as those who know the simple stuff is best. Lots of love, your no.1 Fan.

Leave a Reply

