Blogging and Images

I’ve become acutely aware of how dependant I am on photographs when it comes to blogging. It’s almost like I feel I have to have an image to inspire me and another handful to illustrate every point I make.

Interestingly, this reliance on images tends to make other writing very difficult; somewhat like a kid trying to cycle for the first time without stabilisers on his/her bike.

I’m sure I’m not alone in this but I’m wondering to what extent image-dependence is an issue for the rest of you?

Now it’s half killing me to not add a photograph into this post.  Just think of all the possibilities …..

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

30 thoughts on “Blogging and Images”

  1. I like your images, and I like your words. Keep up the good work. I always choose an image or two for a blog post, along with the words I write. However, I also write many things that have no images. The two activities come from a different place in your brain and kind of require gear shifting to do both.

  2. Hi Sandy, thanks for your kind words.
    I like that idea of a gear shift. I used to do a huge amount of writing-writing in which images had no place but, as yet haven’t managed to combine image blogging with strict writing very well.
    Sounds like a can of oil is required or a new gear box!!

  3. Having worked in radio for some years, we were taught that radio is the theatre of the mind… just as powerful words are when written. I have very few posts without images as they act as the anchor to channel thoughts.

    However, including images with all you post is very much your style… they portray not just the scene, but your thoughts. To me, you have the image/words balance just right… as Stan would say. I hope he’s doing well.. he’s been in my thoughts.

    1. Cris, how interesting to have worked in radio – a medium I love much more than TV.

      Yes, images do channel thoughts and isn’t it interesting how difficult it is to blog without them. (though much less time consuning).

      Stan is loving all this attention. He sends his love!

  4. Hello…I love your images and your words and I use iamges in my Blog. Somestimes, its about getting an extra dimension…not sure why…also, I think I am a visual learner…see and do…and spending time on the computer, instead of reading a document or a book….I wonder if this has an impact too:):)

  5. I always love attaching photos too whenever possible. My new blog (my 5th one) revolves around photos I took over the years. Sometimes, it is easier to think of words when they are accompanied by photos.

  6. I love your photos Jean! Visuals inspire my thinking, although when words come to mind first, it can take me some time to find the perfect image to reflect the meaning. To be honest, I find words alone can be boring if it is a long post. Thanks for the ponder 💛

  7. The medium used lends itself to visual imagery, and photographs help break up large areas of text, making it less daunting and easier to read on a screen. And nowadays when photographs are so easy to take with camera or phone it seems a shame not to share them with others.

  8. Hi Jean,

    Your images are always just perfect for your posts! Thanks for spending the time picking them out.

    As for me, I am so not a visual person, I have a tough time getting images for my posts. I have been relying on pictures from my smartphone lately.

    Nancy

  9. I never thought about that before but I feel the same way. I always put photos in my posts partially because I am a photographer but partially because I just don’t think what I have to say is important enough on its own. And lastly probably because I really enjoy looking at other people’s photos too.

Leave a Reply

