Water Flowing Under the Bridge

The River Suir is one of the longest rivers in Ireland. It has been a part of my life in various different parts of the country.

Here’s how it was as I stood on Fiddown Bridge one evening recently.

img_20160903_200712
Back towards Clonmel, Co.Tipperary

Clonmel was ‘home’ in my student years and the place where I met up with hubby.

The Suir enters the sea a few miles from Waterford city. I see it almost every day and feel it is part of my stream of consciouness as Co. Waterford is my birthplace and home now for over 25 years.

I love the bends in this wonderful body of water. They say so much about the unexpected; and the hidden beauty that lies in wait.

But that evening on Fiddown Bridge, I wasn’t thinking about past or future. It was more a deep appreciation of the flow of life and being able to take in the fullness of the river at high tide as it brought a calmness with that gentle glow of pink as night fell.

img_20160903_201114
The Suir heading towards Waterford City and onwards to the sea.

Is there a river that wends through your life?

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

27 thoughts on “Water Flowing Under the Bridge”

  1. Growing up in the arid northwest Texas, we did not have many rivers. You could walk across most of them without getting your shoes wet. 🙂 The Brazos River (Los Brazos de Dios) forms my anchor. It’s where I learned to do the Dead Man’s Float, to watch out for quicksand, and to appreciate the route of a river.

  2. My river is the Thames, born by it in Chiswick, grew up by it in Brentford, met hubby neat it in Ealing. We left it for two years when we lived in Devon, then back to Brentford then to where love now and the Thames again is near . I have been drawn to it for all my life it’s my stream of consciousness too! 😘

  3. I have a very odd answer to your question Jean- no doubt, in part, because of the way you worded it – the metaphorical and philosophical implications of “Is there a river that wends through your life?” I play lightly on this normally for two reasons: 1) People think you are touched and put you in a box when you mention it and 2) It tends to reduce the impact of any logic and/or reasoning that you present.

    You see I perceive this physical universe, among other things, as a metaphor for another, spiritual universe. What we see and do and are here is the tail of a greater, more powerful existence that we partially enjoy now and will enjoy much more in the future.

    I have not had a river much in my life. The ocean has been my touchstone, and I relate much in my life to the ocean, even though I have been away from it for 24 years., it feels like a part of me. You see all water – including rivers – begins and ends at the ocean. What I see as winding through my life is God – all is on its way back to God – as all water is on its way back to the ocean. Much as the ocean has been here longer than any other physical structure it can be said that : ” I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, says the Lord, who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.” Revelations 1:8

  4. I grew up beside a lake, Jean, and I find city rivers a decent proxy. My walk home takes me all along the Liffey in Dublin. I always seem to know where I am in relation to prominent rivers in strange cities I’m visiting. Seems I navigate by water. I’m sure there’s a poetic metaphor in there somewhere 😉

  5. I find the Suir a strangely gentle river Jean. As well as from the quays of course I used to enjoy the view down from Ballygunner if I was out running that way.

    Coincidentally I’ve just finished drafting a novel set, in part, in Dunmanway. A lot of golden memories of long ago attached to the level crossing to the west of the town and the stream that ran (still does of course) alongside it. Bridges and rivers have a great part to play in our memory don’t they?

  6. Wonderful post, Jean! I grew up in Fredrikstad and the longest river in Norway runs through my hometown, dividing it. I moved to Bonn in Germany and the mythical river Rhine divides the city.

Leave a Reply

