Catchiness

I don’t normally spend time walking around industrial estates, as you’ve probably realised if you’re a regular here on Social Bridge. In fact, I tend to avoid them like the plague.

I ended up spending an hour or so in one of the big ones in  Waterford the other day and found the experience quite engaging.

This sign for a storage company took my fancy and had me thinking of various signs and slogans that have stayed with me over the years.  I’d love to hear about the ones that have entrapped you. box

Here’s the rest of the picture. img_9659

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

16 thoughts on “Catchiness”

  1. I will have to have a think about this one…my husband and I are often found talking about things we’ve seen and read that makes us feel we should offer our services as ‘editor’:):) I have seen ads like the camel ad in my research of 1950s newspapers…and how the wheel turns….

  2. Ha! I once delivered to a cold storage In Kansas City, Kansas called “Inland Cold Storage” Given that Kansas was around the center of America – more than a thousand miles from an ocean – I thought that was appropriate. I arrived at night and there
    was a small wooden security shack on a gravel lot with the “Inland Cold Storage” sign predominately displayed. I could not find any other building or structure and then a security officer drove up. He said I was in the right place and took me for a tour. He drove straight at the mountain behind in the dark and just before he hit it a dark arch appeared and we drove inside the mountain. About a mile inside we came upon this:

    Then the light went on in my head IN -the-LAND cold storage. Right sign. wrong interpretation.

      1. Ha! Guns are hard to get here in Canada but there are a lot of rifles used for hunting. Ammunition is not strictly controlled so you can buy it many places. I was once headed up a rural road into a hunting and fishing area when I saw a small store at the roadside that had everything needed as told by the sign in front: “Bullets, Worms and Beer For Sale”

  3. At work (a container leasing company) we’ve been asked for ideas for new catchy slogans. One entry was ‘I can’t believe it’s not butter’ which we think is a joke 🙂

    Maybe it’s my Birmingham upbringing but I love post-industrial landscapes, though not the soulless industrial parks we have today.

    1. How exciting to be in a job where they’re looking for catchy slogans!
      Totally agree about the soulless industrial parks of today, though I must say I found walking around the one in Waterford was a bit of an eyeopener compared to driving through.

Leave a Reply

