Sussin’ the Scene

Jean was on the verge of deleting this little video off her phone and I am risking a lot by nosing in and trying to post it here. I may end blowing Social Bridge as well as Jean’s trust in me asunder.

But, you see, I like the clip cos it shows how it’s not all about racing around when your’re a puppy dog.  You’ve got to sus out the scene and hold your horses until you’re sure about things.

I think a lot of people could learn from this little message as they tend to rush into situations without giving enough thought to what they’re letting themselves or other people into.

So, here it is. Let me know what you think and if you never hear from me again you’ll know that Puppy Stan is in the Doghouse forever and ever!!!

Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy.  (Saadi)

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

27 thoughts on “Sussin’ the Scene”

  1. Oh, Stanny, you would be a very good social worker! Just yesterday the class and I were discussing the importance of observations, and making sure one understands the situation and the person in the situation, prior to taking action! In your case, you are assessing (is that States’ talk for sussin’?) and coming to understanding before jumping in–you want to come visit my class as a guest speaker? We meet on Tuesdays at 1. Just in case you cannot make it next week, would you mind if I showed the video of your excellent sussin’ skills?

    1. WOW, Suz, are you serious about showing my video???? I’d be thrilled and maybe all the class would write back and tell me what they think.
      Yes, sussin’ is the same as ‘assessing,’ though maybe not as fancy a word.
      I’m all excited now! Love Stanny. xx

      1. Oh, very serious–I would never toy with your emotions, Stanny. I would of course, give you and Jean credit (not only because it is the right thing to do to acknowledge the contributions of others, but because it is expected of social workers–I imagine you know that already since Jean is a sociologist and there are similarities in what we are supposed to do about using the work of other people). But yes, sincerely, as I watched your sussin’ I was struck by how well it illustrated the concepts we were discussing in class, and how with lots of folks, seeing is so much better than hearing. I will definitely ask them to write back and share their thoughts and what they learned! PS: I love having learned the word sussin’–I think I will use it in class and see when someone finally decides to ask me what it means. 🙂

        1. That’s brilliant, Suz. I’ll be all ears to hear what your class has to say. (Jean doesn’t know I’ve done this yet so maybe you writing so kindly will help to soften the situation.) Good luck with that group of yours. I wish I could meet them. Stan.

      1. Okay, that one really made me laugh, and unfortunately, I had a mouthful of wine at the time, so now I have to clean my computer screen. But, it was worth it “Sure, where else would you be living?” Got to love it.

  2. Stan, how wonderful that you can be free of a lead and sit happily enjoying nature. I am rarely off my lead when outside my yard and I don’t have any bush close by to run free. There are doggy parks, but not the ideal place for me or you. I do have lots of birds come to visit during the day and possums at night, so I’m happy.
    Oh, and sometimes I wake Crissouli up and let her sit with me in the moonlight, especially when there’s a full moon. She’s not always happy with me then, especially in winter, but in the other seasons, she lets me sit awhile. I love moonlight, so does she , but in the very early mornings, she loves her bed more. I’m glad you kept this beautiful video. Your Aussie friend, Buster.

  3. Hi Buster, great to hear from you. I can’t imagine what it would be like not be be able to be off the lead. I hate it and am so lucky to have loads of places to go as free as anything. The only problem is that I sometimes get a bit carried away and race off and forget about time and Jean is in a tizz wizz.
    That moonlight time sounds great. I must try it with Jean. We often go and have a look at the moon over the sea but I’ve never woken her to look at it ~ YET. I’ll blame you if there’s any hassle.
    Hope you have a good day today or night or whatever it is. I don’t fully understand this time difference thingy. Stanny

    1. She’s not happy with me this am, I woke her three times last night…but the moon was so beautiful and the tree branches looked so pretty against the night sky. You’ll be asleep now, we’re 10 hours ahead… but it’s a good time to get Jean to wander looking at the moon. Please just don’t tell her I said so…B.

  4. Hello Stanny…I do hope hope you are not in the doghouse…and well done you for taking time to sus everything out…I don’t have the nature to do that on my walks but I do sit on my back deck and survey my world in the mornings before the day really gets busy.

    They get up here at different times of the morning…some days its quite early like this morning, we were up before 6am and others, like yesterday it was 7.20amish…so I have a hard time managing them sometimes…but after breakky (I have some toast and he gives me the top of his egg…heaven on a plate) I leave the kitchen and head outside and just look around. The birds are usually sounding off and the doggies down the road say hello. We have a new doggie a few streets away and boy, he has the lowest bark you ever heard…so I have to say hello back…and then its time to go for a walk around the garden just to make sure that my work in digging up the garden bed and bulbs has been appreciated, and that he hasnt tried to change my efforts by making everything smooth again. I’ll have a talk to her today and see if she has any photos of me on the deck:):)

    Take care Stanny….
    Dougal doggie:)

  5. Oh, Stan, you are a great example! I do pretty well, but those squirrels really test me, yes they do. My “brother” Michael walks me off-leash a lot and I make him proud. My “mom” loves me, but she knows how I get when I see those squirrels, so with her, I have the leash on, but it’s okay, I don’t mind it all. As long as I get outside, I’m a happy camper! Your chocolate lab friend, Copper 🙂 woof!

    1. Hi Paul, I don’t think I’ve much, if any, retriever in me. Mama was a Cocker Spaniel and Dada was a Springer Spaniel. You should have seen Mama, she was a golden as you could ever see.

Leave a Reply

