Puppy Love

2016-08-21_12.36.05
Stanny

Strange as it may sound, among all the millions of countenances with two eyes, a nose in the middle, and a mouth below it, no two precisely resemble each other. (E.V. Lucas)

I spend hours and hours looking at faces and expressions and, believe me,  this thing about eyes, noses and mouths is true as true, especially when you look at how much one face can change in the space of an hour.

I love smiles and come-walk -with -me expressions the best. But, if someone needs to cry, they should be let and given a snuggle-buggle.

Hope you’re having a fun day or, at least one in which your tears are being understood and pawed with love.

Your Friend,

Puppy Stan.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

30 thoughts on “Puppy Love”

        1. Hi Van, can you feel my eyes moving from you to Jean and back …. like people watching a tennis game?
          Talking of tennis, I was beside myself when Stan ( who I was called after) won the US Open on Sunday. I’d love to know what Mark Twain would have said about Stan’s backhand.

  1. Stan, you are so perceptive that when a human just needs to be sad, it is sometimes the very best thing possible that you are just there with some unconditional devotion.

        1. Sorry to hear that, Zeke.
          I hope she realises that brisk walks with you energise her.
          It’s not always easy to know what to do with them, is it?
          Stanny.

        2. She says she runs around too much for her job lately and her feet hurt too much. I sure hope her hours diminish so we can go back to our long walks in the woods…

        3. Now this sounds like a serious situation in which you’ll have to but all paws down very firmly. She mayn’t realise fully how much the work is doing her in. Good luck with tackling her in the nice way you have about you. Love Stan.

    1. Hi Paul,
      I guess handsome is in the eye of the beholder.
      I wasn’t feeling too handsome down at the vet’s for my check up and stuff the other day. There was a tiny dog with a pink lead looking at me as if I was a complete cowardy custard. She was right!!

  2. Hi Stanny,
    What a handsome face you have! I can see that you can express a ton of empathy when it’s needed. Jane told me that my predecessor, Jenny, used to lick the tears off of her face when she cried. Also, one time her son’s cat scratched his face very badly and he ran to look at the damage in the mirror. All of a sudden her son looked down and there was Jenny looking up at him with concern written all over her face. I am a L/W English Springer Spaniel and I am very pretty. People tell me that all the time on my walks with Jane. I wish we could meet on the beach one day for a flying run but I live really far away in California. I love when you write!
    Licks, Nanette

    1. Hello Nanette, I love the sound of both you and Jenny. I’ve tried the licking tears. They’re very salty but not as salty as the sea so it’s manageable.
      I’d love to go to California. Jean was there and loved it. I wonder would she bring me?
      Talk soon, Love Stan xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

