Puddle-Power

Puddle

I’ve always been a puddle person ~ drawn to them as a small child and drawn to them even more as a big child.

Interestingly, the Irish word for puddle is locháinín which certainly hints at ‘small lake.’

As a child, I loved the ‘boldness’ involved in getting my shoes wet. This was a source of ENORMOUS tension between my parents. Mother didn’t give a damn and always seemed to be able to produce spare pairs out of nowhere or advocate the tearing off of shoes and socks in all weathers so that we could feel the ground beneath our feet. Father, on, the other hand, had a thing about both bare feet and wet feet and I mean a major thing!

I think I truly came to puddles and wetness on bare soles as a result of interviewing a man who had been completely paralysed in an accident. He spoke of how he longed to be able to walk on wet grass and feel the splash of puddles.

What draws me to puddles now are the reflections and wonderment at how they can appear so deep when they are so shallow:

Puddle2.jpg
Dreaming in a Puddle

I’m certainly not alone in having ‘puddlitis’ and here are some of my favourite quotes:

If you can train your senses to perceive the movement of the minute hand of a clock, what is to stop you from training them to ‘slow down’ when you look at a tree or a puddle? (Colin Wilson)

Never let the mud puddle get lost in the poetry because, in many ways, the mud puddle is the poetry. (Valerie Worth).

Some people could look at a mud puddle and see an ocean with ships. (Zora Neale Hurston)

Although its light is wide and great, the Moon is reflected in a puddle one inch wide. The whole Moon and the entire sky is reflected in one dew drop on the grass. (Dogen)

The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful. (E.E.Cummings)

Let the children be free; encourage them; let them run outside when it is raining; let them remove their shoes when they find a puddle of water; and when the grass of the meadows is wet with dew, let them run on it and trample it with their bare feet; let them rest peacefully when a tree invites them to sleep beneath its shade; let them shout and laugh when the sun wakes them in the morning. (Maria Montessori)

I think I’ll tear out now and splash around in as many puddles as I can find. Why don’t you join me?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

33 thoughts on “Puddle-Power”

  1. Reblogged this on Perth Words… exploring possibilities. and commented:
    SPLASH!

    Ripples
    merge you and I
    into a private existence
    mirroring each other
    different shades of blues
    silver rings of protection
    white dots of hope
    green patches of communication
    blue background of love

    until someone else
    jumps in with both feet
    splashing and spreading
    confusion
    drenching our safeness
    with questions
    green jealousy
    and blue moon moods
    holding a red umbrella.

    After a while calm silver
    reflects our feelings
    reminding us what we had
    in our perfect puddle,
    holding a mirror to our faces
    before rubber boots intruded
    so we realize what we had
    before…

    Frances Macaulay Forde © 2010

  2. A puddle does stir ones imagination…it mesmerizes one into a quiet meditation. A leaf fallen from a tree gently floating and turning around on the surface as a breeze sends it along it way. The splashing of rain adding to the puddle creating a small stream when it is filled beyond its capacity. Kids love them as well as some adults. Though if an auto goes through one and splashes ones clothing it is frowned upon by the wearer…alas a rainbow caused by a slick of oil can be looked on as beautiful or a curse of where it came from…

  3. I thought this was beautifully worded and nicely put. It makes me think about the ordinary things in life and how you always find a way to turn them extraordinarily more deep, more meaningful. We really should meet up soon, if you’d like? Lovely post xxx 🙂

  4. I love puddles…and I’m one lucky dog…so does she…but it becomes a battle when I try to race her to the water’s edge…the bigger the better we say:):) not that we’re competitive mind!!!
    Dougal dog

  5. Great quotes, Jean 🙂 This post reminds me of a very vivid memory when my 5-ish year old self and neighbour girl enjoyed playing in a muddy puddle… We were reprimanded upon discovery, ‘though … LoL … still not entirely sure why 😉 ♥ 3

  6. Puddles were made for children….of all ages! I love watching how they make a bee line for them to have a good splash. That is a lovely puddle you have there reflecting the countryside! Happy splashing!

  7. It wasn’t until I got to the end of the post that I realised why I don’t get pleasure from puddles any more. It’s because in the city, you don’t know what’s going to be in them, apart from rainwater. Like piles of autumn leaves – at home in the country I love nothing more than treating them like footballs. In the big smoke, it’s all fun and games until you find out a dog’s been there before you!

Leave a Reply

