Newly Thatched in Co. Waterford

Co. Waterford is well known for its thatched houses and pubs and this is the time of year that you tend to see fresh thatch at its best. It’s an absolute delight to the eye and a real art in itself.

I tend to see thatch as being like hair and and thatched buildings always present themselves as unique faces to me.

Kennedy’s pub on the road between Waterford City and Dunmore East has been catching my eye of late with its new ‘hair do.’

Thatch
Freshly Groomed
Thatch2
Wise Eyes
Thatch1
Thick Fringe
Thatch3
Slainte!

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

33 thoughts on “Newly Thatched in Co. Waterford”

  1. Amazing. I’ve never seen a thatched roof in person. How long do they last Jean? That building looks quite historical – how long has it been there?

    1. Hi Paul, thatched roofs last for years but need to be touched up every so often.
      I suspect that the pub building is at least 100 years old. I must ask next time I’m passing.

  2. Reminds me of a Berber rug…luxurious looking. I’ve seen videos on how it’s done and it is interesting. We have a shop called the The Christmas Tree shop and their roofs have a similar topping they look very Irish looking ..they sell merchandise that is imported but not from Ireland…

  3. I love thatched roofs, first encountered for me whilst visiting South Africa. Lovely photos, and the sea is looking quite nice as well in the header photo!

  4. It would be physically impossible for me to walk by that pub without ducking inside for one. Presumably there remain enough thatchers in Ireland to do the necessary work Jean? I know of only one thatched roof in Jersey.

  5. Now I know where we’ll meet when you come to Waterford!!
    Yes, there are thatchers here alright, even a Master Thatcher, Hugh O’Neill, who was the subject of one of my very early posts here on Social Bridge.

  6. The pub roof does look quite neat as if it just had a fresh haircut. Would love to stop in for a pint! I am glad to know the art of thatched roofs is still alive. Oh, I too like your new header! You captured the action of the surf perfectly!

        1. It’s a helluva busy road alright. I usually have that problem when it comes to stopping. Got this pic early last Sunday. Unfortunately, it wasn’t open!

  7. I love a thatched roof. Something I really noticed on my trip to Scotland recently was how many houses were perfectly whitewashed. They looked beautiful. Just add a thatched roof and wow.
    I remember on holidays to my grandparents there was always whitewashing to be done ( while my brother and I roamed the hills.)

  8. I was able to stay in an old farmhouse near Newgrange a few years ago with a thatches roof. The owners had done an amazing job restoring the house and roof and it was a special treat to be there. It’s very interesting because we don’t have anything like it here. (Other than maybe adobe houses or metal corrugated roofs.)

Leave a Reply

