Hope

Astilibes3
Path of Hope

There were times during my growing up when I was absolutely terrified and pessimistic about the Troubles in Northern Ireland.

As I hear about the awful violent acts that are happening around the world at present, I get desprately sad but hope, hope, hope that those who are feeling total despair now will one day feel the sense of peace that we have come to know on the Island of Ireland.

 

 

.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

16 thoughts on “Hope”

  1. We need to come together and be aware of the danger that lurks everywhere, not here but also abroad..We can’t allow fear to take over or become complacent in thinking it can’t happen here because it has and it will rear its ugly head again. It’s horrifying to hear what is happening, let alone seeing pictures . My prayers and thoughts are with those who have paid the ultimate price their lives.

  2. I love the photo of the rose…so beautiful. It captures perfectly the sense of peace and hope, which we need so much at this time:)

  3. I was visiting in Ireland back when things were really bad. It was unreal! There was so much hatred, so much violence. Someone whom i got to be friends with seriously said, “If they ask you if you are a Catholic or a Protestant, find out what they are first… otherwise you may become injured or die.” His brother’s legs were both broken because of the religion he belonged to.

    I’m sure glad that things are much better now. The world, however, is still in maniacal violence… and so-called religion has a lot to do with much of it. People need to drop their separative patterns and look without hate and prejudice!

    1. Tom, I love your last sentence.
      I guess it was a huge benefit for me to be the child of a loving mixed marriage here in Ireland. It certainly led to complications while young but has helped greatly to see how so-called religious divides can be bridged.

Leave a Reply

