Watercolours

I’m not a person who obsesses about the weather. My philosophy is that if you live in Ireland you’ve got to accept that the weather is changeable, that we’ve no control over it, and that there’s beauty to be found in all weathers.

There’s something lovely about going out in the Summer rain and listening to the raindrops plopping down on big leafy trees. Oh, and what about the smell of rain ~ what’s that fancy word ~ ‘petrichor.’

Well, I took myself off to Mount Congreve on Saturday morning in the pours of rain to savour the magic and here’s what was waiting for me:

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

52 thoughts on “Watercolours”

  1. I love all kinds of weather (not all the time, but most of the time)..I love the fine misty rain because it does good to the plants and lawn…I’m not a lover of a unusually hot humid day though…but stay inside where it’s cooler and do relaxing things like knitting or reading or catch up on chores. The pictures are beautiful ..I love the one that shows the winding road, as you don’t know what lies ahead just like in life itself…

  2. Beautiful Jean – and you’re right, the smell is delicious and unique. As a lark, I once took my wife to the most exclusive hotel in Ottawa (Chateau Laurier) for a night when I got an unexpected bonus. It was a wonderful experience and we had two meals there. It was a once in a life time evening. We had a green salad prior to dinner and the vegetables were so fresh that when you closed your eyes you could smell the petrichor (new word for me – thank you) and it was as if you were standing in the garden right after a summer rain shower. I am sure there wasn’t anything we ate that had not still been on the farm in the last 24 hours. At least I know now how the rich and famous live. 😀

      1. Yeah it was unusual. There was a timber truckers’ strike (some years ago) in northern Quebec and those guys settle political disputes with guns – rough area( politically separatists) . We had three tractor-trailers that got stuck in that strike when the roads were barricaded and the strikers held our drivers hostage. It took a week to resolve and in the mean time I was up 24/7 making sure our drivers were OK, keeping them calm, getting food to them, talking to the strikers to keep them calm, liaising with the police, reporting to management, in some cases even writing dialogue for the drivers ( one had a family emergency and I instructed him to talk to the police and tell them that he “feared for his life”.) Anyway at the end of a week there was a political solution and the drivers/trucks were freed. Our drivers were uninjured, there was not one scratch on any of our trucks, the loads were fully intact. The company figured I deserved a bonus and it was generous. Given that some drivers were beaten, some trucks burnt and some loads damaged while we were unscathed,I guess they saw the value. ;D

        By the way – in that picture above the buildings just left of the Laurier are the Parliament buildings and the tall tower to the left is the hallmark clock tower on Parliament.

  3. So lovely and I also love the picture of the winding pathway…when I get time over the summer I am going to get back to some painting and a winding road with large and lush trees is on my mind….:)

  4. Beautiful photos thanks for sharing ! I live in Australia and we are now having a gorgeous rainy winter after an extremely dry hot summer.

  5. Fine ‘watercolours’ Jean – somehow you have disappeared out of my reader and was reminded of you when I saw your icon in someone else’s post. I thought you had been very quiet for a while – I now realise you haven’t 🙂 All the best, Robin

  6. Thank you for giving me a new word. I love it too, but didn’t know there was a word for it. (we’re in drought this summer, and one day last week I was taking my walk in the neighborhood — a few blocks over I suddenly smelled the delicious scent of rain on soil, saw that just ahead the street was damp — it had rained! But it only rained on ONE cul-de-sac in the neighborhood )

  7. So lovely. What does the rain smell like in Ireland? In Arizona the rain smells like creosote which is sort of a sweet dust smell. In Michigan the rain smelled like rotten nightcrawlers (big worms) ugh.

  8. You are so right about the weather, Jean! I decided a while ago that when it comes to the weather my philosophy is: Dress for it. As long as you are properly dressed for the weather, photo opportunities abound! Sometimes rainy, misty, or foggy weather creates an etherial scene, ripe for taking pictures and better than a bright sunny day, that tends to wash out color. I love that word …’petrichor’ … for the smell of rain. It is distinct, and around here it sometimes carries the salty smell of the bay and seaweed.
    Your photographs are beautiful as always ❤
    xo n.

Leave a Reply

