Sporting Heaven

Today is a HUGE day on the sporting calendar and it’s one I’ve been looking forward to for ages now.

Tennis is passion of mine and has been since I was a toddler. So, so many memories of watching the Men’s Singles Final and relishing all the history associated with it at both public and personal level. Today, just seeing a clip of Fred Perry had me thinking of how my late mother used to be glued to the radio listening to the crackly commentary of his matches when she was young.

I hope, hope, hope that Andy Murray can win today. He’s one of my big sporting heroes.

The final of EURO 2016 Soccer between France  and Portugal awaits tonight. That should be a great match and I feel the whole tournament has been brilliant in terms of how it has shown that national passions can be played out in sporting stadiums rather than killing fields of war.

My Waterford blood is pumping hard today too as our hurlers take on Tipperary (hubby’s county) in the Munster Final in Semple Stadium.

So, a feast of sport that builds so many bridges

C
Waterford Colours!

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

19 thoughts on “Sporting Heaven”

  1. Appropriate name on boat for the sport teams and players…Hopefully all will go in your favour as to whom will be the victor..Nice boat!

    1. Hi Joni, all great apart from Waterford who had a terrible trouncing from Tipperary.
      Family relationships may be a little strained while H and I recover in the midst of hubby’s celebations!

  2. Andy Murray did so well…and so did Serena Williams…what great examples of what can be achieved based on really hard work, not talking about talent as that’s beyond my knowledge base. You made me smile with the reference to Hurley as my Dad used to play when he was young. Not sure what team or anything but he came from Doneraile and I imagine it would have been with a Cork team somewhere, or it could have been when he joined the Army which would have been in the mid to late 1940s…so many questions but it does’nt matter because family folklore is that he loved the game and was very good:):)
    I love the photo of the boat and the name sings out…and blue and white are my team colours…Carlton…used to be Chelsea when we lived in England:)

Leave a Reply

