Long Evenings in Co. Waterford

There’s something about stolen long evenings in Co. Waterford that wraps me up in sweet tranquillity.

Last Saturday, I felt the need to feast my eyes after too much screenery and found myself chasing the last of the light out along the Copper Coast. It was a dullish evening but I knew that there would be beauty if I let it find me.

Bonmahon Beach was deserted save for one young man making his way into the sea for one last swim:

B1
Depths

The Yeatsian sky ~ ‘Had I the heaven’s embroidered cloths…’ mirrored on the sand like a painting laid out to dry:

B3
‘Enrought with golden and silver light …’

Bonmahon, like so many other cities, towns and villages across Europe, was engrossed in the EURO 2016 quarter final game between Italy and Germany and I met just one walker when I stopped to savour the setting sun. We said our ‘hellos’ and and agreed that it was a great evening to be out:

B4
Homeward Bound

The bleating of sheep rang through the salt air and I thought of those days in Spring when I was out searching for the first lambs of the year:

B5
Togetherness

It was very heaven to see the curtains of the day closing over the Comeragh Mountains:

B5
Closure

Back home the screen was flickering and tensions were high as the penalty shoot-out saw the Italian dream fade and German joy rise.

No one noticed that I’d not been there for the whole match and that’s how I wanted it to be!

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

18 thoughts on “Long Evenings in Co. Waterford”

  1. You “stole” away while others interests were on the game..and you saw your own battle between days end and dusk..Your description opens the minds eye to a beauty that can’t be captured by a video ..the mosaics of light and shadows says it all..the quietness except for the surf going in and out…Beautiful description and pictures that tell the whole story…

  2. Your posts make me want to go back so badly. Not for the touristy places or the epic heritage sites. But, for the daily beauty one finds in every direction in Ireland. The small things that are just so lovely everywhere you walk or drive or visit.

Leave a Reply

