Together Again

Waiting
Ready and Waiting

One of my very favourite times of the day is when I can sense that my Dad is getting nearer and nearer on his way home from work. I do everything in my power to get up onto the sofa so that I can have a good view out the sitting-room window and be there to welcome him before he’s even in the front door.

He never, ever fails to meet my eyes and smile in at me and then I race out and meet him when he comes into the hall.

You might think that these reunions get boring but they don’t ~ in fact they get better and better everyday cos I’m learning to read what kind of a day he’s had and if he wants a gentle nuzzle or a bit of rough and tumble.

We have our little time together and it matters to meΒ  more than I could ever tell you. He loves me as much as I love him and I’ve come to learn, too, that he likes to have ‘home’ time with me so that he can unwind in a way that’s not about anything except happiness to see each other.

He doesn’t know about all the hopping and jumping I do on the sofa while I’m waiting for him but that doesn’t matter, does it, as long as we get to share that ‘together againness’ every evening in the special way that we’ve developed it.

Lots of love,

Puppy Stan.

P.S. Here’s how Tramore Beach was looking today. Imagine I was able to be racing around there while Dad was working. It’s a dog’s life alright!

Tramore
Tramore Beach, Co. Waterford

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

31 thoughts on “Together Again”

  1. It’s great to Love and be Loved and you are loved by many Stan..Alone time with Dad is very special for him and for you…

  2. Go Stanny:):) every morning when I say hello to my two housemates I love to see their happy faces and I never get tired of how funny their voices sound when they say hello back and give me a cuddle. I dont get to share their bed but I do have my own special place which is lovely and warm and clean…she’s very thingy about that…and I don’t mind…a happy housemate is a happy housemate:):) Dougal doggie

    1. Dougal, it’s great to hear from you.
      I’ve never heard about people being ‘thingy’ about stuff before but I think I get what you mean. I’d call it pernicididy.

  3. Stan, you are so lucky to have a great Dad who comes home from work and enjoys your greeting!!
    You are even more lucky to have this bay to play in and explore with your mum.
    You have a terrific dogs life!
    Auntie Val x

    1. Hello Paul, I certainly do enjoy it especially when my Dad slips me a few treats. Jean never, ever gives me eaty treats. She says we have to be aware of obesity whatever the hell that is.

        1. She sounds great. I wonder would I be too much for her. I met a 13 year old on the beach the other night. He was HUGE. His owner called him the a ‘gentle giant.’ He was kind as anything to to me and even told me a few little stories about his life when he was a younger dog.

    1. Hi Willow, I know I’m a lucky pup. The beach is super-duper these days. It goes on forever with sandhills and everything. Great for ‘hide and seek.’ Love Stanny.

  4. Love it, Puppy Stan! Rando’s Kate is the same way–she knows when he drives up the driveway and goes to the back door to wait for him, tail wagging. πŸ™‚

      1. I like to think of it as curious and interested, Stanny. Kate was soooooo happy to see us arrive home last evening, and she has been glued to Rando’s side (and snuggled in betwixt the both of us last night) since we returned. It is a comforting feeling to know she “has our back” since we had hers since rescuing her from Hurricane Katrina in 2005.

    1. I think I’m luckier than him. He gave me a bit of a biscuit right front of Jean tonight. She never, ever gives me treats but he does in spite of her saying he shouldn’t. I try not to get too involved in these discussions but love the way he winks at me in the middle of them!! S.

Leave a Reply

